An Iconic Symbol Of London

Tower Bridge is a combined bascule and suspension bridge in London built between 1886 and 1894.

Tower Bridge serves as a structure carrying a road and path connecting people across a river and is an iconic symbol of the city carrying more than a century of the history.

In 2008, Bridge Tower entered renovations that lasted four years. Metal parts were stripped of original paint and are repainted in white and blue. New lights were installed in walkways and suspension chains were repainted with six layers of protective paint.

  • The bridge is 800 feet (240 m) in length with two towers each 213 feet (65 m) high, built on piers.

  • It took eight years, five major contractors and the relentless labour of 432 construction workers each day to build.

  • Two massive piers were sunk into the river bed to support the construction and over 11,000 tons of steel provided the framework for the Towers and Walkways.

More about the Tower Bridge History...

WPC: Bridge

94 thoughts on “An Iconic Symbol Of London

  1. Pingback: An Iconic Symbol Of London — The World Is a Book… | Chris Fortner Photography

  2. It is a most amazing bridge and your photos are outstanding. I enjoyed reading about the history. Work has begun on a new bridge to replace the Harbor Bridge but it will not have the character of this one. Good post!

    Like

  3. Never has been, never will be ever again a bridge like this one… so much history and I never tire of seeing it when I’m in London. Gorgeous shots, Amy, you did a great job of capturing its grandeur.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Amy, I just want to say that when I saw this post in the WordPress reader, it automatically recommended another of your post “The Stone Bridge in Verona”. I instantly recognized that shot of yours and I can still remember how impressed I was and I became your fan since then. I am very happy to read that post again 🙂

    Like

    • I’m honored, Jeremy! Thank you so much for remembering the Stone Bridge post (which was about 3 years ago). So glad I could share my sentiment for the Stone Bridge with you.
      I have admired your photos. Your photos are poetical, artistic, telling beautiful stories, and worth a thousand words!

      Like

    • These photos could be sharper if I had my tripod. But, I don’t try to drag a tripod when I travel. 🙂
      Thank you so much for your comment, Dragon!

      Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

