XDrive Photo Lesson – 12 – Shooting in Raw

In this lesson, Raj explains the raw vs. jpg format and how and why use raw format.

Click for large version. 1/30, f8, iso 1000:

Raj also reminds us, “…the Raw image you got out from your camera is not yet an image file… You must output it as a jpg file using an appropriate software.”

Here are my raw images. The edited versions were done through Lr basic edits (highlights/shadows) and added vignetting.

1/200, f7.1, iso 1250:

1/30, f18, iso 200:

I have been using raw format for a while, but didn’t know the ins and outs. Thanks to Raj for taking time to explain in such detail.

To learn more or join us, please visit Raj’s XDrive Photo Lesson – 12

 

46 thoughts on “XDrive Photo Lesson – 12 – Shooting in Raw

  1. Thanks Amy for being early with your submission. I am sure you have tons of pictures now from your latest trips.

    Pic 1: Great shot of Japanese umbrella. Although the advantage of raw cant be demonstrated here, glad to know that you are already in the raw format. Probably this shot you could have shot still in a closeup, just showing that stickwork showcasing the lights and shadows.

    Pic 2: This is the classic example of the usefulness of raw images. Check some of the leaves there on the original they look overexposed. Check the edited image, so much of details, you can even see the tiny water drops. This is where raw image shines. If it would have been a jpg image hardly you could have shown any details there. Excellent example!

    Pic 3: Again I am not able to see much of the raw file advantage. But I am sure on a full size one can still see the difference.

    One thing I forgot to mention in my write up is, you MUST always add sharpness to your workflow whenever you work with raw files. Always the raw image output looks soft by default. Your pic 3 needed some more sharpness IMHO.
    This is a critical review as part of XDrive’s Photography Learning sessions. Thank you once again for being part of it.

    Raj

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Hi Amy,
    With my new camera, I always save my picture both as jpgs and raw-files, but have never been able to detect much of a difference – except for the size of the files. So, normally I use the jpgs only.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Pit

    Like

  3. I like them all! My favorites are 2, 3 and 6! I would never tell someone how to take a photo. Photos are a personal reflection of an individual. I always sharpen my photos, but that doesn’t mean anyone else should unless they want to. Some people purposely blur photos to give a muted effect. I like that to. It’s individual and unique, like you Amy. Lovely photos~

    Liked by 1 person

    • I so love your photos, Cindy! I rarely not to think of your photos when I click. I think of your photographing skills and styles almost everyday and how you make posts when you travel, during my recent trip to Japan, and so wish I had your eye to capture the beauty.
      Your comment means a lot to me, Cindy. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful photos. I used raw format when I had time to process the photos. I could work with it whith spectacular results than jpg format. Nowadays jpg format has evolved with the full frame sensor and non mirror cameras.

    Like

  5. No doubt raw offers a lot more depth to a photo than a jpg. Still it’s not for everyone, is it! It does take more time to get to finished photos. Personally I think it’s all worth it. In this examples you have both captured and processed the photos, beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely photograph Amy and I agree with Cindy. Sometimes it is nice to have some softness in an image. I especially like the first two images here and it is interesting to see what you can do with raw. I tend not to use it as I shoot a lot in burst mode.

    Like

  7. Good evening, Amy. I love the color of that umbrella! And love those trees, too. We went to a park today. I looked up from time to time, but I didn’t any as pretty as your photo!
    Have a wonderful evening.

    Like

  8. Beautiful all your photos,dear Amy,and interesting your technical skills.You very well know that my knowledge on the topic is poor,but I can very clearly see the difference in the leave image;Raj is absolutely right,in the after image one can see even the little sparkling water droplets 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

