XDrive Photo Lesson 3 – Exposure

XDrive Lesson 3 for this week is exposure. Raj says, “We need to use above three tools to control our picture. Simple? yes..but then why is photography is a complex topic? why cameras have so many controls and complex settings?” That is what I want to know.

Raj also uses 8 photos to explain precisely how and why for the settings of the shutter speed, ISO, and aperture.

I’m submitting two photo for lesson 3. One was taken during day time using aperture priority and the other was night time using shutter speed priority.

The image below was captured at 1/160 second, f7.1, and ISO 250, using aperture priority with Canon 7D II, and processed through Lr.

The one below was taken at 1/30 second, f5.6 and ISO 1600 (no tripod), using shutter speed priority, and basic editing through Lr.

At the end of each lesson, Raj asks followers to submit a couple of photos, and he is willing to provide feedback and critics for improvement. I think this is a great opportunity for us to learn as a community.

Click here for more information.

View the critics/feedback Raj provided me for lesson 2. Thank you so much, Raj!

============================================

Critics from Raj for the Exposure lesson:

Wow Amy, Superb contribution once again! For both pictures you have used the correct settings based on the situation. Well done. Beautiful contribution.
Pic 1: People often have questions on whether to use portrait for landscape, this is the perfect example. Your aperture you have chosen is able put everything sharp in focus and shutter is able to freeze the water. Colors and shades just beautiful.
How you could have still improved this shot? Although it’s a great shot, I would also take this shot in slower shutter speed, just to see the motion blur of the water swirling through the columns. Yes you need a tripod. Also a monochrome also a good try as you will have lots of shades of grey in this pic.
Pic 2: Again the perfect execution, you have less light so 1600 ISO, yes beyond that I think you will start seeing the noise. 1/30 sec and you did well to hold that heavy camera steady.
As an improvement, again if you had a tripod (or put a camera on steady surface), you could have tried the long exposure with aperture at f16 or so, that way you could have generated lots of star like flare on the bulbs. Also I feel like the image is one stop under exposed? The bush on the foreground left is good, but you could have avoided those stray ones middle which is kind of distraction.
Thank you once again, check the main thread and there is a post from Helen, we did some discussion there too, that might interest you too.
Cheers!
Raj

39 thoughts on “XDrive Photo Lesson 3 – Exposure

  1. Amy, great photos! I particularly like the second one. I don’t shoot at night often so I have never built up the confidence shooting at night. I wish I were there watching you shooting that photo.

    Like

  2. Wow Amy, Superb contribution once again! For both pictures you have used the correct settings based on the situation. Well done. Beautiful contribution.
    Pic 1: People often have questions on whether to use portrait for landscape, this is the perfect example. Your aperture you have chosen is able put everything sharp in focus and shutter is able to freeze the water. Colors and shades just beautiful.
    How you could have still improved this shot? Although it’s a great shot, I would also take this shot in slower shutter speed, just to see the motion blur of the water swirling through the columns. Yes you need a tripod. Also a monochrome also a good try as you will have lots of shades of grey in this pic.
    Pic 2: Again the perfect execution, you have less light so 1600 ISO, yes beyond that I think you will start seeing the noise. 1/30 sec and you did well to hold that heavy camera steady.
    As an improvement, again if you had a tripod (or put a camera on steady surface), you could have tried the long exposure with aperture at f16 or so, that way you could have generated lots of star like flare on the bulbs. Also I feel like the image is one stop under exposed? The bush on the foreground left is good, but you could have avoided those stray ones middle which is kind of distraction.
    Thank you once again, check the main thread and there is a post from Helen, we did some discussion there too, that might interest you too.
    Cheers!
    Raj

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, thank you for your critic, Raj! You are right, the first one was not sharp at all, I actually was disappointed. I got some help from Lr. I shall try slow SS and a tripod next time. For pic 2, I was standing again a tree. This was my first evening shot sometime ago. It was not completely dark, I am still not comfortable of shot night light photos.
      I found the comments you made for Helen’s images were valuable. I read it a couple of times and I should go back and read again.
      Appreciate you spending time with me. I enjoy your lessons very much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Amy… for your kind words of appreciation.. glad you liked these sessions..
        Please understand that these all are critical reviews.. don’t get dejected.. Its easy to pick a mistake after that’s been taken! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Amy, you answered my question before I even asked. You did a great job sharpening the first photo. I was wondering why it is so sharp since you used F7.1 instead of F11 or F16… (I thought maybe the focal length played a role too. I mean when we zoom in or not. I don’t know…)
        Have a wonderful day.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I did’t use F11 or F16 because it was a shady area and people were constantly walking by…, and I thought F11, 16 might slow down the SS. I should try F11 next time, especially for landscaping shots.
          Thank you, Helen!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Learn Photography – 3 – Exposure – XDrive

  4. Pingback: XDrive Photo Lesson – Breathing Space | The World Is a Book...

  5. Pingback: Learn Photography – Review – July – XDrive

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

