Unusual (Surfing)

This week’s WPC theme is unusual. said, “…post a photo that is unusual in some way for you, whether it be through technique, by subject, or in some other unique way.”

Riding a surfboard across the face of a breaking wave is an unusual sport. Do you know, the talented and photogenic few are paid to surf by a multibillion dollar surfing industry. For the rest, it is an obsessive hobby.

This surfer keeps a cool balance, the other is going under the wave:

It looks like a smooth ride…

Well executed!

“Watch me, I can walk on water, a piece of cake!”

“Walk on water is all good, try this!”

“No matter what you guys do, keeping the balance on the breaking wave is my main focus.”

Practice, practice, practice!

After shooting a bunch of surfing photo, I was exhausted, but these surfers kept going… Well, Dale Webster setting the official Guinness Book of World Records record for the “most consecutive days spent surfing for 14,641 days, making it his main life focus.

 is leading this week’s Daily Weekly Photo. He is a remarkable photographer. You don’t want to miss his Sydney Vivid 2017 series. It’s magic!

Happy Weekend 🙂

WPC: Unusual

55 thoughts on “Unusual (Surfing)

    • I was at the South California beach. I took off my sandals and soaked my feed in the water to get these actions (with 135 mm lens). It was fun to watch. Out there on a board may be in my next life. 🙂
      Thank you so much for visiting, Simon.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. If and only if I am 30 years younger… Ha.
    Good morning, Amy. Wonderful photos. Here in MN we don’t see surfing at all. It must be a very exciting one.
    Have a great day.

    Like

  2. I love to watch surfers, and your photos do a good job of capturing this unique and challenging sport, Amy. And I find Lignum Draco’s Sydney series absolutely outstanding year after year, great to see it referenced here. Warm wishes for a happy weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Unusual: Stairs 1 | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Fantastic shots, Amy! If I was younger and lived near the ocean I would be surfing. I body surfaced when in Florida and actually lost the top of my bikini as I took a tumble. I didn’t realize it and standing up I then knew I was minus something. Oops. Just a bit embarrassing. LOL Have a great weekend! 😘

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

