Mobile Photo Challenge: Your Choice (Foodie Photos)

This week, Sally’s Mobile Photo Challenge is our choice. I’m post some of the Asian cuisine I had in South California.

Japanese noodles are very popular in SoCal, especially among the youngsters. This restaurant claims that they make fresh soup and noodles daily. The firm texture of the noodle and thick flavoring soup made a very special cuisine. You expect some 30 minute waiting there.

Besides noodles, we ordered various appetizers and side dishes. Pan-fried dumplings were my favorite. A bowl of the noodles and two pieces of potstickers were more than plenty for me, but my nephew had two bowls of noodles, the rest of the potstickers, and four side dishes.

We also enjoyed Chinese braised beef noodles. The tender meat and luscious, soul-warming sauce reminded me the slow simmered of Boeuf Bourguignon.

The Korea Stone rice was different. Hot rice was topped with various Korean cooking vegetables and some meat, and it served in a very hot stone bowl. You stir the rice and veggies for a minute before you eat. Delicious!

Fry rice topped with pan-fried pork at Di Tai Fung. Fry rice dishes are all the same, until you eat in DTF…

The first time we ran into a Japanese noodle restaurant outside of U.S. was in London in the late 90s. I recall when we got there the restaurant was already packed. I was surprised with the size of the noodle bowl they served and found it was amusing to see how everyone picked up the bowl and drank up the soup like Japanese do. Back then, this was the only noodle place in London, now you can find a couple of dozens through Google search.

Please visit Sally D’s Mobile Photo Challenge (Lens and Pens by Sally)

Thank you for visiting! Have a wonderful week. 🙂

50 thoughts on “Mobile Photo Challenge: Your Choice (Foodie Photos)

  1. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Portrait of Orchids) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  2. Looks very delicious. A shame I can’t eat most of it any more. I changed my eating habits, lost 18 kilos and try to stay that way. No rice, no noodles, no potatoes and no sauces. But plain vegetables and meat. All I can eat. Sometimes it is still tempting. Good that you didn’t post images of Indian food, Amy. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for your comment, Reinhold. 18 kilos, that is a lot. I love breads (especially German bread), pasta, and noodle, I eat meat, but not a lot. I do enjoy Indian food very much, sometimes I cook Indian dishes. They make the best flat bread. Oops, you don’t eat bread. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Both our daughters live near wonderful ramen places. What a joy! We also have a small Chinese restaurant not too far from where we live where they make their own dim sum. Instead of a hundred choices, they only have about 30 or so, but it beats having to go into Chicago and everything is quite delicious. Now you have my mouth watering! It’s almost lunch time, but unfortunately, we won’t be having any of these. 😦

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve been eating some great food there in SoCal. The noodles look so hearty and so do the dumplings 😊 One dumpling is never enough. I’ve never had fried rice at Din Tai Fung but I will keep it in mind 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yum! By the way – I love the papers you have photographed for your header. The way you have superimposed calligraphy on top of calligraphy is inspiring. I would love to be able to do calligraphy.

    Liked by 2 people

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

