Shadows of the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge

The Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, locally known as the “Gorge Bridge” and the “High Bridge”, is a steel deck arch bridge across the Rio Grande Gorge 10 miles (16 km) northwest of Taos, New Mexico. According to Wikipedia, the bridge is 565 feet (172 m) above the Rio Grande, is the seventh highest bridge in the United States and 82nd highest bridge in the world.

0w5a1051-edit-shadow

The construction of the Gorge Bridge was started in 1963 and completed in 1965. A $2.4 million “facelift” to the bridge was completed in September 2012. This year-long project included repair and restoration work to the 50-year-old bridge including structural steelwork, a new concrete deck surface, new sidewalks, ramps, curbs, and gutters.

0w5a1042-edit-shadow

The Rio Grande Gorge begins near the Colorado border, approximately 50-mile (80 km) gorge, runs from northwest to southeast of Taos, New Mexico,

0w5a1046-edit-shadow

WPC: Shadow

Have a great Sunday! 🙂

34 thoughts on “Shadows of the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge

  1. Great pictures, Amy! 🙂 I remember when I was there. I did walk on/across the bridge, but very scared to go close to the rim of the gorge. Taos, especially the Pueblo, was a wonderful experience. [http://tinyurl.com/hw7yshl]
    Have a great time,
    Pit

    Like

  2. Pingback: Shadow: Sunset | What's (in) the picture?

  3. What a gorgeous post and a superb long bridge!Great construction dear Amy!I feel so sorry I’ve missed so much beauty from your posts.You cannot imagine how I feel all this period of time that I am away from WP.Disappointed as well,as I never managed to sort out my email inbox.You’re always in my thoughts,hope I’ll manage to come back decently.Love to you my dear friend ❤ xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      • I am,I was and I have always been busy,but I at least I managed to post something and to visit my favourite blogs.All started because I left again in September and October.Our travels to Denmark and Norway after our summer holidays left me hopelessly behind.I hope though that I’ll come back someday ❤ xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a beautiful place to visit and take in the surroundings. Watch an amazing sunset over the Sangre De Christo Mountains. Taos is such a magical place. We love our home and our location in the historic district near the plaza. So much history and beauty.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

