Friday Food: Burger

Yvette (priorhouse.wordpress.com) starts a monthly Friday Food Challenge. The theme for December is Bread.

I missed November’s meat theme, so I am posting a combination of bread and meat– Hamburger 🙂

Below is a one-pound hamburger at the Borough Market in London. It’s a gourmet food market consists of more than 100 stalls and stands.

0w5a1541-burger

After eating all kinds of great food in London for a week, on the last day, hubby was hungry for hamburger.

img_4459-food

He still thinks the In and Out burger is the best.

IMG_3271-2-walking

Interesting facts about hamburgers:

  • Americans eat nearly 50 billion burgers a year, which translates to three burgers a week for every single person in the United States. That’s a lot of beef.

  • McDonald’s mogul Ray Kroc didn’t get into the burger business until he was in his 50s.

  • White Castle is the oldest burger chain in America. It was started in 1921 by Walter A. Anderson and E.W. Ingram who sold their burgers for 5 cents a piece.

  • Despite its American popularity, we have the Germans to thank for our beloved hamburger.

More on Hamburger Trvia

McDonald’s alone reported that they sell an average of 75 hamburgers per second of a 24 hour day. As a result, hamburgers also account for 40 percent of the sandwiches sold in the United States, according to Food Reference.

fridayfoodbadge

Happy weekend!

25 thoughts on “Friday Food: Burger

  1. I had the best burger ever in London at a pub! The In & Out photo was not good for my diet related mental discipline. I am feeling an urge to go drive in and come out with one of those babies!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Amy, for the pictures – which make my mouth water – and the trivia. I enjoyed reading them. Btw, even after all my years here in the US I still have to eat a burger at McDonald’s. But then, we have Hondo’s on the Main here in Fredericksburg, and that’s all I need. It is doubtful, btw, if we’ll ever get a McDonald’s here, because they would not be allowed in the historic district and thus maybe not interested. We have a policy of “no chain on main”.
    Have a great weekend, even if may be a wet one,
    Pit

    Like

  3. I love burgers and hope to eat a good old fashioned American burger in an American diner if ai visit. Your photos are making me hungry and I haven’t even crawled out of bed for the day 😂 I’ve heard SO much about In and Out Burger 🍔🍟🤔

    Like

  4. Oh this was such a good post Amy! Thanks for linking up to Friday food!
    And with a bun like that you have us bread and more!
    And that burger is ginormous-
    This London place has it going on/ and nice trivia /
    You really put together nice posts Amy!
    Xxoo
    🍔🍔🍔🍔🍔

    Like

  5. Hello I am new to this blogging thing…but anywho…I love burgers the best anytime food I think…my favorite buffalo, and venison…

    Like

  6. Pingback: Foodie Friday challenge article – Rachel Spellbinder

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

