Flyways for Monarchs

According to Texas Parks and Wildlife, During the fall, monarchs use two principal flyways. Monarchs enter the Texas portion of this flyway during the last days of September. By the third week of October, most have passed through into Mexico. The second flyway is situated along the Texas coast and lasts roughly from the third week of October to the middle of November.

I captured these Monarchs in the second week of October while walking through a local trail.

0w5a0015-local

I was happy to capture three together, then four of them came.

0w5a0016-local

Wow, I caught all five monarchs…

0w5a0018-local

Monarchs cannot survive without milkweed; their caterpillars only eat milkweed plants, and monarch butterflies need milkweed to lay their eggs. Texas Park and Wildlife maintains a lot of milkweed plants in various parks and trails.

0w5a0266

 

For WPC: Local

The chart below shows the continuous drop of Monarch colonies, 2013-2014 was the lowest. The good news is that it is bouncing back a bit between 2015 and 2016. I have seen more Monarchs in Texas this year than the past few years.

monarch-population-figure-monarchwatch-2016

========================================================

Monarchs can travel between 50-100 miles a day; it can take up to two months to complete their journey. The farthest ranging monarch butterfly recorded traveled 265 miles in one day.

Source from US Department of Agriculture, Forest Service

Thank you for visiting! This is another scheduled post for this week.

45 thoughts on “Flyways for Monarchs

  1. It’s nice to know that humans are doing their bit for other species, even if it’s only in some instances. I’ve read and seen so much about the Monarchs, it’s a pity that they have dwindled so drastically. Brings to mind the passenger pigeon….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful butterly, Amy. We do not have the Monarch in Germany but he arrived in Europe. First he came to the Azores where they call him „Feiticeiras“ – Little Witch – 🙂
    Great shots, Amy – love the milkweed photo very much.
    Best wishes
    Ulli

    Like

  3. Amy, you have given me hope. I am doing everything that I can to get Monarchs back to our property. We used to see flocks of them but now only one here and there. Thank YOU for this post. I will continue to do all I can to increase their numbers. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy, how fortunate that you caught sight of these beauties. I saw one or two this year in my garden. I have loads of milkweed plants for them. I am saddened by their decline. My hopes are that the efforts by many of us will eventually make a difference. It’s important even to do posts like yours to inform people.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Local: Byfords Holt | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Another gem of a post!
    I never knew that monarchs needed milkweed. Now I know!
    An to get 5 in one capture! I bet you were dancing the happy dance! Well done my friend!
    I have returned to AZ… but I have not even been home a month and this weekend I will have my third set of house guests! I am not complaining, I love it! …but it makes for less posts on my part and less reading of others. That is why I enjoy your instagram posts. Have a fabulous weekend!

    Like

  7. I am allergic to MilkWeed and the allergies fuel asthma so I no longer have Milk Weed in my yard yet I constantly spread the seeds on open grounds hoping to spread the plant. I do plant other ‘feeder’ plants to sustain the Monarchs on their journey. They love New England asters and I find they overnight in them and so I have done my best to spread these asters through neighborhood gardens. I have several of these wild asters in my yard. Monarchs prefer the plants further from the house and so next year I will move some back to the roadside so they may have their privacy.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

