Thursday Travel: Helsinki

A glimpse of Helsinki

0w5a0618

Helsinki was the headquarter of Nokia. In 2000, the company accounted for some 4% of Finland’s GDP. By 2013 it accounted for less than 0.5% of the country’s output. Microsoft bought the Nokia in 2013, then admitted,”It was a mistake to begin with.”

I was glad to have a chance to visit the city that I know very little about. Here are a few photos to give you a glimpse of the city.

A quick tour of their unique architecture:

0w5a0600

0w5a0541

and city Park and gardens:

0w5a0582

Here you can enjoy the street music performance while sip Helsinki coffee.

0w5a0633

Downtown is well designed. One side of the street is filled with shops, coffee shops, bakeries, and restaurants and the other side is a beautiful urban park.

0w5a0660

Shopping galleria:

img_3843-helsinki

They claim that Helsinki has the best coffee in the world, no kidding. 🙂

img_3824-3

0w5a0707

Many lovely unique local shops:

0w5a0568-helsinki

0w5a0567

It is amazing how they built this unique rock church. First they blew a hole in the rocks with explosives and then a dome of glass and copper was raised above the rockwalls, then carved out of the solid granite.

img_3783-2

The broad copper dome adds to the magnificence.

0w5a0555

Street food offers many interesting choices in the market place. Hubby had Reindeer meatballs and I tried a basket of small deep fry fish.

0w5a0677-helsiki-2

0w5a0673-helsinki

This probably is the most beautiful city public lady’s room that I have ever seen.

0w5a0704

Thank you for spending time here. Happy Thursday! 🙂

=================================================

According to the World Happiness Report 2016 ranking, Finland is ranked #5.

According to the World Atlas Coffee consumption per capita, Finland is #1 on the list, 9.6 kg per capita (consumption of 2.64 cups/day).

Finland Current population: 5.5 million 

 

41 thoughts on “Thursday Travel: Helsinki

  1. Pingback: Thursday Travel: Helsinki — The World Is a Book… | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. I cannot even count how many times I said wow during this post, Amy!!! What an incredible city and your images just fantastic. The one of the church just blew my mind. Unbelievable!!! Just truly unbelievable!! Thank you for taking the time for putting such a complicated post together!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Amy for giving me your never-ending support! I don’t take for granted. I know your passion and perfectionism for photography.
      Thank you for letting me share my travel experience with you. :0 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do not have the time as you do, dear friend, firstly to travel, which I would just LOVE to do, and secondly publish very involved and complex posts as this one. I so enjoy a good read, and when I came here this evening, I truly so appreciated your every effort to share with me your journey. Thank you, Ame, for letting me parts of the world I’ll probably never see. Bless you! ❤

        Like

        • I just prioritize travel, not because I have more time than others. I guess we somehow we can find time if we have passion for sometime that is important for us. Thanks to you for opening my eye to the beauty of nature. 🙂 ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          • I agree with you, Amy, in finding time when something is important to us. Taking care of these special cats takes up so much of my time and I am unable to leave even for one day. The hard reality about that situation is, most of our cats are around the same age, no longer young and I have a feeling they will go in “bunches”. Yes it will free me to do what I dream, but at a very high price. Yes travel is up on my list for what I want to do and in fact, I plan on beginning to write a list of the places I’d like to visit. And it really wasn’t me who opened your eyes. You decided to do so. I’m glad I could have assisted you!! ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely photos, Any and I noticed the macaroons. They remind me of my youngest daughter and how she and her boyfriend give me a box of twelve but I usually can only make them last three to four days! Yummy and brightly colored. I loved the unique way they blasted into rock to create the beautiful rock church. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Loved seeing your impressions from Helsinki, a city I have visited many times as my hubby has family there and we used to spend our summers in a small cabin by a lake outside of Helsinki. The city has such a lovely atmosphere and a lot of beautiful architecture. Temppeliaukio Church that you visited is one of my favourites. I also think the plaza with the Helsinki Cathedral is lovely. And during summer a must is to have coffee at the market with the orange tents along the harbour:)

    Liked by 2 people

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

