CCY Challenge: #23 Black and White

When I read about why black and white for Cee’s Compose Yourself Challenge, I decide to give a try. Cee says,”The biggest thing benefit of black and white is that your viewer will actually see more of the details of your photography. The viewer doesn’t get caught up in the color.”

“What makes a great black and white photo: texture and contrast” is a wonderful advice.

Heavy texture for this one:

0W5A0755--BW CCY

Showing the contrast:

0W5A0336--BW CCY

Eliminating colors, I can see the details a little better:

0W5A0487--BW CCY

Contrast for this one:

0W5A4995--BW CCY

I think this one is interesting, it captured the texture and the contrasts. The line is obvious, it’s the line between two bricks. I even tried to erase it with PS cc a few times, and I made it worst. Any suggestions?

0W5A0606--BW CCY

Now I understand a little better of why black and white. Thank you so much, Cee! I hope I got it right, look forward to hearing your feedback.

Learn more from Cee and join us click here.

banner-compose-yourself-challenge2

Thank you for visiting! Enjoy the weekend. 🙂

40 thoughts on “CCY Challenge: #23 Black and White

  1. I sure think you got it right, Amy! As to the last picture: what would you think about eliminating that thin black line running across? Did you deliberately keep it in?
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good morning, Pit! I tried to erase the line a few times, I made it worst. So I decide to leave it there. It’s a line between two bricks. Thank you so much for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the explanation, Amy. Now I can see what it really is. I had thought it was a wire in the foreground. Btw, which programme do you use to eliminated unwanted details? I use “Inpaint” and am very pleased with the results.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I used Photoshopp CC, which does a great job. For this one, maybe because of the tiny textures and because it’s shadow. It was challenging… I will take a look of the Inpaint. Thank you, Pit!

          Liked by 1 person

          • You’re right, Amy: the texture might make it hard for any programme to do away with the line without negatively affecting everything else. Let me know if you have success with Inpaint.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. A great post Amy. I totally agree with the argument for B&W, especially when I’m painting in color. I’ll often shoot photos of my progress, some in B&W so I can see whether there is enough depth and contrast in the painting. Your examples above are spot-on.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Good morning, Amy. Great B&W photos. I particularly like the last one.
    I thought Photoshop “Spot Healing Brush” would do an excellent job to erase the line. Was that you used?
    Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  4. Lovely monochromes Amy. I very rarely try to take out details like that line. For me, that is what I saw and so keep lines such as power lines in. I like the idea of cutting the image in half and pasting together if you really want to elimate it. Me, I would have empahsized it to add some more to the shadows.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of the time I like to see lines as it is in an image. For this one may be the line is too obvious to viewers. I have never tries to cut and past… adding some more to the shadows sound really good. Thank you, Raewyn! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Cee’s Compose Yourself Lesson – Gold Star Awards & Hiatus – Cee's Photography

  6. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap July 30, 2016 and WPC-Narrow – Cee's Photography

  7. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap August 6, 2016 and WPC-Morning – Cee's Photography

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

