Birds in Flight

WPC: Look Up

0W5A1442-Edit-Edit-lookup

When I’m out in the field, I constantly look up the sky and try to capture birds in flight. I could spend hours without getting one good shot. If I’m in the right place at the right time and my camera exposure is ready for those flying birds, I’m a happy camper; it doesn’t happen often though.

0W5A1930-Edit-lookup

There are many tips for taking cool bird photos, including composition, exposure, background, and knowledge about their habits, etc. When I set shutter speed for 1/1250 or 1/1600 second and press the shutter half way, I’m ready to shoot whatever comes up. Composition and background checking, are you serious?

0W5A1370-Edit-Edit-Edit-2-lookup

However, bird photographers agree that the most necessary ingredients is patience, I’m working on it… 🙂

====================================================

Vivid 2016: Zootopia by Lignum Draco is amazing. Every single photo truly communicates the joyful experience of being there. How one can capture the magic of lights, colors, and details of the shows and then be able to convey the experience is beyond me. Below is one of his 17 photos of LD’s 6th of his eight Vivid 2016 series. Today he is posting his 7th, it’s… Wow! Click and enjoy!

vivid-2016-99

I can’t imagine carrying gears going from one side of Sydney to another in cold winter nights to photograph various themes for this 23-day event. Thank you, Mr. Draco!

55 thoughts on “Birds in Flight

  1. Good mornig Amy,
    Those are really fantastic captures of the birds.
    I agree with you that you need patience – and that’s what I usually don’t have. 😉
    As to the composition: you’re right. In those short moments you don’t have time to think about composition. And with the high resolution of modern DSLRs you can simply shoot with a wider angle and later, at home with the computer, get the compostiion right.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Pit

    Liked by 2 people

    • Good Thursday morning, Pit! Thank you so much for our feedback. I agree that modern DSLRs offer so much that make photography a lot easier. One time, I kept shooting flying birds until I couldn’t hold my camera and lens any longer… and got only 6,7 good ones. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love all these bird shots. Stunning and on point. It looks like they are doing a chase up in the air 🙂 Good to know what settings work for you and what yore comfortable with. Keep clicking. The more you click, the more good shots may you get 🙂

    Like

    • It’s tricky, sometimes 1/1600 sec is too fast, other times is okay. You never know the shutter speed is correct until…
      Thank you for your thoughtful comment, Mabel.

      Like

      • You are so right. You never know the SS is on point until you take the photo, put the camera down and look at photo. You really have to guess and hope you make the right choice. And you did in these shots. Bravo 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Look Up (Crossroads) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Good afternoon, Amy. Yeah, learned something today. I thought 1/600 would be good enough. No wonder I have never taken a good one. Ha. Thanks. I definitely will try your setting next time.
    Have a wonderful day.

    Like

    • Hi Helen, I guess my response didn’t go through the wifi… Sorry about that. Well, sometimes 1/1250 is too fast other times, you need 1/800 second. I depend on my luck. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow again and again dearest Amy!Magnificent birds on the wing,but your last image with the trio performing high up in the skies,is beyond words!Huge congrats my wonderful friend 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

