Opposite: Old vs. New (Napa Wine Country)

0W5A0050-Edit-Edit-wine glass

This week’s opposite theme is challenging. Ben Huberman explains, “The tension can reside in what you choose to show — old vs. new, big vs. small, dark vs. light — or in how you frame and design your shot.”

Earlier, I didn’t think I had a photo for this challenge, now I’m posting the second one. The first photo shows the dark vs. light, also the old wall vs. the modern looking of wine glasses.

0W5A5242-WPC opposite

I was delighted to see the castle. It sure looks like Tuscany…

0W5A5230-opposite

0W5A5248-opposite

0W5A0005-opposite

I think Castello di Amorosa actually is an old idea of building castle vs. a new marketing idea of promoting wine. Opposite, yet so very cool! 🙂

The castle interiors, which include 107 rooms on 8 levels above and below ground, cover approximately 121,000 square feet (11,200 m2). Key details and building techniques are architecturally faithful to the 12th and 13th century time period.                 ~ Wikipedia

67 thoughts on “Opposite: Old vs. New (Napa Wine Country)

    • Thank you, Pit. After a several clicks,I realized that my camera was dealing with different lighting in the room, and the reflections on all the wine glasses made more confusing for my Canon. I tried different settings to get this one. By then, it was time for them to serve wine. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Magnificent castle photos and scapes in the surrounding space referring the viewer to past eras.Majestic the lighting in your first photo with the reflective sparking crystals against the old wall.How beautifully you have paired the old with the new dear Amy 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Opposites (Tunnel Graffiti) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. That first shot is a winner. The way you got the lights, the wall vs the perfect glasses, the symmetry and everything. I can’t stop admiring.
    The landscapes are well envious. How I wish to see something like that. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. #1: I like how the DOF is getting sharper and then blurry again. The light reflection on these glasses is very cool. Your landscape series is excellent. Reminds me of a motorbike trip to Italy and an overnight stay in an old castle hotel. The restaurant looked similar to your image #1. Thanks for sharing, Amy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are really very good at capturing amazing light Amy, the first photo is brilliant. Looks like a nice trip, Tuscany is on my list and I’m sure they could fit me in that castle for a few nights!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have avoided capturing lights for a long while. I can’t remember how I got this one right. Tuscany is heaven on earth… we visited there before I had my digital camera.

      Like

  6. Amy, I liked the ancient ruin of castles, fields, flowers and beautiful vistas. The old church is so sweet! ❤
    Not sure why my comment didn't come out yesterday but sometimes I am pushing "like" or "post comment" at same time a call comes in on my cell phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment, Robin! It’s at a scenery spot.
      I’m sorry I missed your earlier comment. It happens to me every so often. It could be my Wifi connection.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Good Eats | The World Is a Book...

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

