Will I see you again….

There wasn’t a sign, not a hint. One day last week, when I woke up in the early morning, I sensed that they were gone…

Photos below were taken a couple of days right before the Woodpecker family left.

Here the younger one was peeking out while waiting for Mum to come home with food. She wished to be outside.

0W5A4377 -last week of

Mom and Dad worked hard to make sure their kids get plenty fruits, seeds, and insects to eat. But they didn’t always find time to eat, so we put out the bird feeder for them in the evening.

0W5A4344-Edit -last week of

“What’s going on up there?” W Jr. was so curious.

0W5A4445 -last week of

Jr. had a perfect posture (see photo below), exactly like his mom/dad posted whenever they were ready to fly out. Jr. was ready to fly.

0W5A4420 -last week of

Both kids were well loved by their parents.

0W5A4005

Below is a special photo capture of the Woodpecker family.

0W5A4389- gone

The day before W family left, Mr. W did a major cleaning up carrying out a lot of junk out of their nest, and I thought it might be a sign that they’d stay a little longer.

Both have shared their responsibilities of raising their nestlings. They have so much to be proud of. Mr. W went up to the top of the tree, as if he was posing for me. 🙂  

0W5A4260-Edit-Edit-Edit- gone

Good luck to you and your kids, Mr. and Mrs. W! Thank you so much for choosing our backyard for your first nestlings. We were privileged of having you. Gonna miss you terribly… Stay safe! ❤

Do you spend your spare time watching birds? I haven’t watched daily lives of birds like this one, so it really is a wonderful adventure for me.

  • Male and female woodpeckers work together to excavate a cavity in a tree that is used as a nest and to incubate eggs for about two weeks.

  • One parent brings food to the nest while the other parent stays with the young. The young generally leave the nest after 25 – 30 days.

  • Woodpeckers tap an estimated 8,000-12,000 times per day.

=================================================================

I have done a few posts for the Woodpecker family. The very first photo of the W family was capture on April 22, about 5 weeks ago. I’m pretty sure they moved in two, three weeks earlier.

Our New Neighbors (4/24/2016) See how Mr and Mrs W start their family.

0W5A1258

New Development (5/1/2016) See how Mr. and Mr. W share the responsibilities:

http://wp.me/pSlDL-do4

A month later… (5/15/2016) See they how they deal with predators and guard their nest:

0W5A2098-Edit -5-15

The first time… (5/23/2016) See their new babies!

0W5A3625 -5-23

Thank you so much for visiting! 🙂

53 thoughts on “Will I see you again….

  1. Just had the same with the family I was watching. One day they were there the next gone and I missed them go. Felt really sad to have missed them leave, but many happy hours sat watching the fun.

    Like

  2. Oh,such an affecting farewell post to the sweet family,dear Amy!You miss them already and I am going to miss them too.Your magnificent photos came live onto my screen,I could almost hear the flapping of their wings and their calls.Adieu W-family … You’ll never find a better place to build your nest and receive so much love … 🙂 xxx

    Like

  3. what a wonderful photo series, Amy! it is sad to see them go but we learn quite a bit from them, don’t we? thanks for sharing dear friend! i thoroughly enjoyed it! 🙂

    Like

    • I feel like I’ve learned so much of bird parenting from these two Woodpeckers. Thank you for letting me share the stories with you, Lola. 🙂

      Like

  4. What a beautiful story, Amy! I think the clean up might have been a sign that they want to return next year. Not leaving anything to rot in there so the nest would be ready to use again 🙂 I know how it feels when they leave…

    Like

  5. I can’t think of a greater compliment than to have a family of woodpeckers choose your yard to build a home. What a treat it must have been to chronicle their daily lives! I would have loved to have experienced that, but thankfully you shared your story with us. Have a great day, Amy.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Elisa! It’s wonderful to be able to share with you and other blog friends. It was quite moving to watch them working so hard to take care of the their kids and guard the nest, and endure the rain, wind, and heat…Thank you for letting me share the stories with you. 🙂

      Like

    • I felt very lucky. Besides, their nest was right in front of our kitchen windows. Had it been on another tree or 45 degree to another side. We’d miss it. Thank you for reading, Tom. 🙂

      Like

  6. Amy, you’ve been so fortunate to have witnessed such an event/events. I have the same experiences here,. Every bird house is full or rotating with another family. It always surprises me that they build nest upon nest (at least some birds). But they all eventually “fly the coop.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Auf Wiedersehen Woodpecker family! We had fun getting to know all of you! Thank You Amy for sharing them with us!!
    I do watch birds a lot in our back yard! We have had quail families and we just love them!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Spare (Flow) | What's (in) the picture?

  9. I do watch birds and I do as much as I can to attract a variety to my home and garden. I have never had an experience even close to what you’ve had with your little woodpecker family. It’s simply joyful! Perhaps the parents will return and nest again. Wouldn’t that be special! Wonderful photography, Amy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment, Debra! This was my first time watching two birds raising babies so closely. They normally stay in the same nest for only one season though. Thank you for visiting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

