Mobile Photo Challenge and Flower of the Day

Sally’s Mobile Photo Challenge: Challenger’s Choice

IMG_1033-Edit MM 5-24

Using fire and rocks (in a huge glass case with a sculpture on top) as a floor decoration is unusual and eye-catching, but very creative. Nonetheless, it does create a warm atmosphere for this hotel lobby.

Sally’s Still Life photo is a beautiful capture. She says, “Its eloquent arrangement was too alluring to ignore.”  She then further explains, “Creativity and its results is a vital human ritual that enriches my world and offers countless soulful adventures and treasures. To contemplate and muse about humanity’s ability to be an image-maker is a deeply philosophical conundrum.”

phoneographybadge2013

====================================================================

Cee’s Flower of the Day through her new camera is absolutely beautiful. You don’t want to miss it…

0W5A0941-Edit MM 5-24

Antelope Horns Milkweed

The milkweed plant (Asclepias spp.) plays a critical role in the monarch life cycle. Each spring Monarchs move across the United States, laying eggs on native milkweeds, the only plants that serve as food for newly hatched monarch caterpillars.

In Texas, milkweeds are crucial to monarch survival because they are host plants for migrating generations coming up in the spring from wintering grounds in Mexico. Unlike the generation before them, which made a one-generation journey south, successive generations make the journey north, and most of the first new generation starts in Texas.

Happy Tuesday!

43 thoughts on “Mobile Photo Challenge and Flower of the Day

  1. We need to try and plant milkweed again here on our property. The seeds we put out last autumn didn’t germinate. Thanks for the pictures, Amy. That floor decoration is really unusual. And Cee’s flower is fantastic.
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning, Pit. Ours didn’t come out either… I didn’t see the weeds in parks last fall as the year before. I wonder if it was too wet. Will try to plant again. The floor deco is at the Marriott, DT Austin. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting facts about the Monarch. I’ve been to Ardenwood Regional Preserve to view the Monarchs as they head out for the winter. Makes sense that one generation leaves and then they take their time when they return. Thanks for the new insight.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Still Life) | Lens and Pens by Sally

  4. LOVE your shot of the milkweed, Amy! I have tons on our wild part of our property and yet sadly to say I’ve seen such a huge decrease in the Monarch butterflies. I hope their numbers increase. I do everything I can to attract them. Great post!! Thank you! ❤

    Like

  5. Those flames seem to go on and on! But I love the milkweed! Perfection!
    I think I am starting to blog again. I just did a post… but I have to say I had sooooo much to do back here at home. Being gone for a month caught up to us.
    Glad to be back… missed you!

    Like

  6. That fireplace looks so inviting and warm Amy. I would sit there all day long for sure. 😀

    The milkweed is absolutely gorgeous and you’ve captured it so perfectly. I just love it! It’s also wonderful that it feeds the monarch caterpillar. Nature sure is wonderful. ♥

    Like

  7. Amy, that fire would have caught my eye as well and it’s certainly beautiful. But on a day when it’s going to be in the 80’s, it makes me too warm just looking at it. 🙂 Milkweed are near and dear to my heart, not only because I find them beautiful, but because of their important role in the life of butterflies. I rejoice every time I see one.

    janet

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Janet, this fire place doesn’t generate heat at all, made for Texas. 🙂
      This milkweed is really pretty, that I didn’t see last year.

      Like

  8. OM,om,you have displayed two brilliant images for the challenges!Your flame composite is most effectual and quite extraordinary!Superb reflections and light effects,dear Amy!Loved the beautiful head of the Milkweed,it looks as if it were an alabaster piece of artwork 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

  9. Pingback: GOOD LUCK

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

