Weekend Coffee Share (5/01/16): New development…

If I were having coffee with you, my friend, I’d tell you Mr. and Mrs. W had babies last week. I don’t know exactly when, but a few days ago, I noticed that they both were constantly flying in and out of their nest.

Wdpecker 4-30 7-57-43 4-30

It works like this, when one is back with food, the other is sitting by the nest and getting ready to fly out to get food. It goes on between 7 am and 7 pm, and will go on for another 3, 4 weeks.

See how they looking right and left to ensure the safety before changing their shift:

flying wdpecker-1

As soon as Mrs. W left, Mr. W looked around again, then went in…

0W5A1819-Edit

 

When Mrs. W came back with a worm she caught. “Wow, I bet babies will love it!” Mr. W said.

two wdpeckers

This time, Mr. W was back with a fruit nut, Mrs. W was impressed, “Where did you get that?”

Wdpecker 4-29 5-04-17

Wasting no time, Mrs. W was ready to take off.

Wdpecker 4-29 5-31-29

I was happily snapping away through the window. All of a sudden, I saw Mrs. W was staring at me, “Stop clicking, Amy!” obviously, she was pretty annoyed.

Wdpecker 4-29 5-25-39

Just couple of more clicks…

0W5A1752-Edit

I thought this was the most safe place for them, until I saw a predator was standing above the nest; a couple of minutes later, he was flying toward the nest. I wasn’t sure if Mr. or Mrs. W was home. In no time, Mrs. W showed up from inside of the nest, Mrs. W and the predator were face to face, and she was ready to attack! The predator turned back and ran. But, Mrs. W fearlessly chased after the predator! At the same time, Mr. W dashed home to protect their babies. I was pretty shaky while I was watching the scene from my kitchen window.

Thank God, nestlings were safe! Mr. and Mrs. W learn quickly, now they fly up to the top of the tree to check around before they go in the nest.

Wdpecker 4-30 7-53-28

If I were having coffee with you, I’d tell you… As I have been watching these two woodpeckers feeding and protecting nestlings day in and day out and take no break, I choose my woodpecker neighbors for this week’s Admiration.

I was lucky to capture the photo below. Mr. W was flying back with his wings stretching out beautifully.

flying wdpecker

Thanks to Diana for hosting the Weekend Coffee Share. Click the link If you want to join us. Visit our Weekend Coffee Share community.

newcoffee

 Have a great day! 🙂

78 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share (5/01/16): New development…

  1. Good morning, Amy,
    And thanks for sharing those great pictures. I’m sitting here now, with my cup of coffee, and I am enjoying those. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the young ones will grow into adults without a mishap, and I’m looking forward to more pictures.
    Have a wonderful Sunday,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning to you, Pit! Thank you for spending time here on Sunday morning! I’m hoping everything will go well. These two birds have been so stressed out… I hope to capture more, but it’s seems getting harder to get good photos. 🙂 Have a great Sunday.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your wondeful post motivates me to go looking for where our woodpeckers (two different kinds) live in the woods behind us. They must be in there, I’ve just been too lazy to find out.

    Like

    • I’d love to see your woodpecker photos, Hien. These are not quality photos since I can only click through the window, and they are double-pane glass windows. This nest is right in front of one of the windows, I didn’t look for it. 🙂

      Like

  3. Outstanding photographs, Amy!! And what a story teller you are as well! Isn’t Nature amazing? We humans could learn a lot from Nature. Thank you for taking the time to document this series of photographs. ❤

    Like

    • Thank you, my friend! ❤ These two little birds knows how to take care of their nestlings and protect them. As you can see, they coordinate so seamlessly. Amazing, indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy, thanks for sharing this post. How wonderful! I do love watching the birds and the way they go about their daily doings. I’m glad you were watching and that the babies are ok.
    Last year we had some Mudlarks nesting and the Butcher Birds kept attacking the babies. I’m happy to say they survived.
    A beautiful post 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I can spend more time to watch them during the weekend. Glad to hear the Mudlarks babies survived. Woodpeckers are small, I worry if they can defend… Thank you for visiting, Robyn!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Admiration (Flower Parade 1) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Thank you for reminding me the cycle… I’m afraid that they may have to deal with it on a daily base from now on. If something happen to the nestlings, I just don’t know how they can endure it…

      Like

  6. Hi Amy, viewing the cycle of nature up close and personal isn’t for the faint of heart! This was a beautiful scene, and your photographs are lovely, thank you for giving us this window into their world. Have a great week!

    Like

  7. Amy, what a gift to watch these parents do their job and do it well. I have numerous flickers and woodpeckers that attend my bird station. They are a joy to observe. Well done, I hope that they inspire others to bird watch–a joy for us all.

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, Sally! Glad you are back. 🙂
      I have had fun watching them. Both came on their own, and found their own nest and find their worms and fruit nuts. Now, I’m so worry about their nestlings…

      Like

  8. Wow! Awesome photos and story! Looks like a golden-fronted woodpecker-they don’t come around here in Virginia! So many great photos on your blog!

    Like

  9. Good morning, Amy. What a wonderful story and many great photos. You made my coffee taste much better! How long have you watched them in order to write this story? It’s amazing! Thank you!

    Like

    • Thank you for your compliment, Helen! I took these photos at different times. A couple of evenings during weekdays, more during last weekends. I had my tripod set up in front of the window, watching and clicking between 20 to 50 min. in a row 🙂 So hundreds of bad shots went to the trash can. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I had missed the good news about the newly born babies and it was a good chance for me to enjoy it before commenting on your “A Month Later” post.So sweet a series of story telling photos,dear Amy!The lovable family in your garden gave you the chance to admire nature’s wonders in front of your very eyes.Thank you for sharing such an experience with us.Your writing part is so pleasantly and vividly written that each photo is live on my desktop 🙂 ❤

    Like

  11. Fabulous pictures. Your narrative was great. The nest outside my kitchen window has remained empty. (Sad face) I was hoping to get a first had view of the hatching. Oh well maybe next year. Keep us posted.

    Like

  12. OMG Amy, you really had to appear on my blog first before I found you?! And those incredible pictures were taken on 01.05. (a day very special to me) – I have “borrowed” one of them for my screensaver for this week. I truly envy you for not only having those lovely birds outside your kitchen window, but also being able to take their pictures. I am sure Mr and Mrs W. appreciate this.And I do love the way you narrate their little story – thanks for showing us and putting a smile on all our faces, I am sure. Will go and look at your flowers now 🙂 Carina

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

