Weekend Coffee Share (04/17/16): A year with IG (Instagram)

If I were having coffee with you, my friend, I’d tell you my IG (Instagram) experience. Diana’s Weekend Coffee Share is “a weekend link-up for posts that imagine the blogger is having coffee and a chat–usually starting with the phrase “if we were having coffee.” I find the theme is very unique, where you get to read and share stories and personal experience.

instagram-smashed

A little over a year ago, my niece, who graduated from Univ. of Illinois (majored Electronic Engineering), came to visit us. While we were taking a photography walk, I mentioned to her about my WP blog, she said, “I’m on IG.” A couple months later, I started playing with IG and tried to figure how to load photos from my photo files, not just my iPhone photos. I learned quickly that IG was a different game. It is a photo-oriented social network via smart phones. It offers no theme or challenge, and you get to post one photo at a time.

For my IG (places.nature), I worked out a rhyme for my posts: 3-4 photos a week for four categories–flowers, places, birds, and another nature-related photos. I have followers who just started their IG, but many have hundreds, if not thousands of followers. And, one who has 29.9K followers, comes to my IG off and on and leaves “like” click. Like WP, it’s reciprocal. 🙂

0W5A1164-dinnertime

IG followers are not wordy. IG puts out tons and tons of fun signs and facial expressions for users to communicate. Since everyone is carrying a smart phone anywhere, anytime, the responses from IG followers can be instantaneous; you click “like”, they click right back most of the time, unless you are on a different time zone. I have been impressed with the quality and creative photos on IG. With an average of 70 million photos per day, you have more choices than you can imagine.

0W5A1130

If I were having coffee with you, I want to share some of the astonishing IG stats with you. According to blog.hootsuite.com:

  • 300 million active monthly users.

  • IG users have shared over 30 billion photos to date, and now share an average of 70 million photos per day.

  • 70 percent of IG users come from outside of the U.S.

  • IG is considered the most important social network by more American teens (at 32 percent) than any other networks.

  • It will bring in $595 million in mobile ad revenues worldwide this year, and $2.81 billion by 2017.

The photo below show how my followers responded to my photo posts:

0W5A1129

And, the Daily pastime says:

  • In April, 2012, Facebook bought Instagram for about $ 1 billion. 

  • 68% of Instagram users are women.

  • In June 2013, Instagram introduced the option of uploading short videos. In just 24 hours was uploaded over 5 million videos.

  • Currently the most popular brands on Instagram are: National Geographic, Nike, and 9GAG.

  • 90% of Instagram users are younger than 35 years. 

Are you on IG? If you have questions, click the FAQ Instagram.

Thanks to Diana for hosting the Weekend Coffee Share. Click HERE to visit other Weekend Coffee Share.

newcoffee

Nancy (Two Trails One Road), my dear blog friend, is hosting her first “weekend coffee share” in her fabulous backyard, and you get to see beautiful birds! You really don’t want to miss it. 🙂

45 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share (04/17/16): A year with IG (Instagram)

  1. I like Instagram, it’s a fun way to share and see my friends casual pics. Since you didn’t put your account in the post, you can find me at @talesfrombackrd.

    Like

  2. I just wrote a few weeks ago about how I’ve been using Instagram. Great to read about your experience too Amy! I’ll hop over and check your account out. My IG is @thirdeyemom. 😊

    Like

  3. Thanks for the wonderful coffee break, Amy. I always wonder about IG. It’s nice to know what you think f it. Does it take a lot of your time? I mean viewing others’ photos and post yours.
    Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not at all since one photo at a time with smiling face and be done with your finger tapping. There are some really cool images on IG that I love to visit them. IG made it almost too easy for users. 🙂 Give a try if you like.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Give a try, Diana when you are ready. I know it works well with iPhone and GX. I really thing IG made it too easy to use and access. 🙂 Thank you so much for visiting! Appreciate your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loooove Instagram! Some people make their income through Instagram even – like Finnish Instagrammer @kpunkka. Keeping up with all the social media sites really is time consuming though. What I noticed when trying out Snapchat was that the photos posted there are more causal. IG seems to be getting becoming more and more professional.

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

