Birding Adventure (Part 1)

0W5A0559-Edit

I have seen so many beautiful bird images on Ingrid’s blog, I decided to take a trip to Rockport to experience birding by boat. I located the charters through Google search, and was surprised it was the same boat charters Ingrid took (Aransas Bay Birding Charters).

 0W5A0603

Caption Lori started the motor at 6:05, it was still pretty dark. Two other passengers on the boat were retired teachers from Michigan. Hubby was comfortably and quietly riding with four ladies. Most of the time we were running back and forth from one end of the boat  with our cameras, he was watching birds calmly through the binocular and listened to Lori telling bird stories.

An hour and half later, we began to see crack of dawn. We waited the sunrise for a little while, then decided to walked to the other side of the boat watching early birds. When I turn my head, I saw sun was rising and a few birds were flying toward the sun. OMG, what a view!

From there on, we began our birding adventure.

0W5A0647

Ibises were enjoying their breakfast,

0W5A0713

The Great Blue Heron was waiting for a meal to swim by, and

0W5A0732

A bunch a teen Pelicans were playful.

0W5A0896-pelicans

Mom Pelican didn’t have time to play though. She took her young kids for a  morning flying practice, she kept her eyes on them the entire time:

0W5A0624-Edit

A little further, hungry feral hogs were wandering around.

0W5A0909

With the 300 mm lens, I couldn’t get clear pictures, especially when the boat motor was running. But, from there on, Lori cruised a little further, and she got her boat close enough to birds here and there to let us take shots. Stay tuned for more. 🙂

0W5A0634

Have a great week! 🙂

82 thoughts on “Birding Adventure (Part 1)

  1. Such amazing captures of the bird adventure you had Amy! I wish I had a 300mm lens. My 18x have to do the job. 😆

    Thanks for sharing these stunning shots! The last one is my first favourite. ♥

    Like

  2. Glad you enjoyed a morning out on the water. That was the highlight of my time along the coast and I’m already looking forward to my usual January visit. We’ve even talked about spending Jan and Feb in Rockport so I can attend the Crane Festival in Port A in Feb. I’m lucky my Bridge camera zooms in to 600mm DSLR comparable. A 1.4 teleconverter seems to very popular with the bird photographers in the area.

    Like

    • Wow, in to 600mm! Thank you for letting me know about the 1.4 teleconverter, Ingrid. I’ll consider it when I go back there again. 🙂 I won’t want to carry a 400 mm lens, my 300 mm go too heavy for me after shooting 1000 pics. 🙂

      Like

      • I once shot 2000 photos in one day. Granted I deleted 3/4 of them, but for bird photography, shooting on burst is a must. The 1.4 teleconverter seems to be the size of choice and it’s very affordable without adding too much weight.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the suggestion, Hien! It’s more economical to rent one, since I won’t use it often. I tried to use my tripod on the boat, but it was difficult to move the camera/lens when I needed.

      Like

  3. Great shots! Glad you were able to see such beautiful birds. And feral hogs too! Whoa! You are living large!
    Oh… and I just thought you should know… Ingrid and I just went to a local zoo and did a photo shoot together! When she is here in the Phoenix area we try to get together! Small world this Blogoshere!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I somehow missed your two posts on birding until this morning. Stunning photos! I live 25 minutes away from Rockport but have never take one of these boat trips. I love the white pelicans and the way they fly together way up high. Thanks for sharing your birding experience. Our area is really great for birders.

    Like

    • only 25 minutes away, CC?! I’d be there once a month at least. 🙂 This is such a precious birding area. People travel here from Michigan, Florida, and other states. 🙂 Thank you for visiting and commenting, CC!

      Like

  5. Can’t imagine the world without the gorgeous birds! That’s why they say ‘shoot birds and animals but only with cameras’! Even I just posted some lovely pics from my birding trip to the Nilgiris, which you’ll surely like! 🙂

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

