Weekly Photo Challenge: State of Mind

IMG_0828-State of Mind (2)-2

“This week, let your inner world and the outside one converge in a photo…Photos show us the surface of things, but they often tell much deeper stories about the objects they depict — and about the people who take them.”  ~ 

While walking on a street in Austin, I was attracted by this young lady’s outlook. After finishing my cup of coffee at the shop, I walked back to this spot and was pleasantly to see that she was still there. This time, I was drawn by her calmness and how she immersed herself in reading. I gave a quick click from a distant.

Cathy (LargeSelf) posted a beautiful photo of the musician during a concert; she said, “To me she (the musician) reflects a state of mind that is contemplative and relaxed.” It’s a perfect capture that “the inner world and outside one converge in a photo.” Bravo!

Thank you for visiting! Have a wonderful Sunday. 🙂

WPC: State of Mind

57 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: State of Mind

  1. Beautiful shot, Amy. I love her makeup and her dress and her state of mind. Also, I love how you captured her in front of that blue agave plant. It looks like she is being cradled by that beautiful plant! Thank you so much for the mention here. I’m so honored!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your feedback, Cathy. It was quick snap, I gave myself no time to think about the composition or angle… Glad you like it.
      My great pleasure to introduce your beautiful photo. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know how that goes, but sometimes I find that I look at a shot later and realize that I captured something even better than if I had taken a lot of time to compose it! You have such a great eye, I suspect you saw it even when you weren’t completely aware of it. 🙂

        Like

  2. Beautiful shot. I would hope that she’d be pleased.
    By her dress and the background, I thought this was from an Africa country. But when You said Austin, I think Texas, USA. That may be wrong too.
    What strikes me most is that she dresses with pride of her home land, no mater where she lives.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I so appreciate your beautiful comment, Phyllis! You’re so right, she is proud of her home land, the culture that she grew up with. Thank you for sharing your insight. I love it!
      It is Austin, Texas. This spot is not too far away from the U of TX. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: WPC: State of Mind (The Eye) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  4. Great candid,wonderful response to the challenge,dear Amy!She is completely undistracted and calm!Her outfit and her make up are so striking,she made a perfect modern portrait as well !Your quote is goreous and so true!I also liked Cathy’s work !Btw,I was so glad to see the lovely flying flocks above the F…. Land ! You’re welcome,you made my day 🙂 .•*¨`• ❣ xxx

    Like

      • It is a really striking portrait!
        Thank you so much for the F visits;I keep only a few contacts (30 something) as my spare time is limited and I don’t want to be inconsistent 🙂 xxx

        Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

