It takes you back in time…

The Western Heritage Parade and Cattle Drive. It’s a kick-off of the Stock Show and Rodeo in San Antonio.

The cattle drive held each year in downtown San Antonio is a nod to the city’s role in herding more than 20 million cattle from Texas to railheads in Kansas in the late 1800s.

A herd of Texas Longhorns was marching up. I couldn’t get close to take a photos. The photo below (only this one) was captured last time, it wasn’t as packed as this year.

rodeo-parade long-horn

Later, hubby found a spot for me, I was clicking happily.

0W5A0045- 2-8 SAT Parade

The mile long route through the streets of downtown features Fort Hood 1st Cavalry Division, Texas A&M Parson’s Mounted Cavalry, Fort Sam Houston Caisson…

0W5A0040- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0091- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0077- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0097- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0095- 2-8 SAT Parade

I think this handsome horse is looking at me. 🙂

0W5A0055- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0039- 2-8 SAT Parade

The parade takes us back to the history and the heritage. It takes us back in time

0W5A0053- 2-8 SAT Parade

0W5A0035- 2-8 SAT Parade

Our gorgeous Miss Rodeo of Texas!

0W5A0064- 2-8 SAT Parade

Wanna take a close look of Miss Rodeo? 🙂

0W5A0069- 2-8 SAT Parade

========================================================================

This one is for you, Simon (simonjohnsonofclowne). I want to thank Simon for his western movie review series. His reviews explain eloquently why these classic western movies are timeless and great; it also taught me to appreciate the Western History and Heritage a little deeper.

“I’ll finish by including the whole of Kipling’s famous poem as much to contradict as to illuminate the heroic viewpoint of the film. And because I like it. It’s a great poem. It’s a great movie.” Simon summed up his recent review on The Tall T.

And his review of  Shane is one of my favorites: “He is the direct descendant of Theseus and Ajax, the Knights of the Round Table, Childe Roland or Caius Kent from King Lear. After much debate I have finally come down on the side of saying that the stunning portrayal by Alan Ladd is down to his skills as an actor rather than by chance. Shane is a remarkable character who straddles the boundaries between historic narrative and mythology.” 

Simon is a remarkable writer.

Thank you for visiting. Have a wonderful week! 🙂

74 thoughts on “It takes you back in time…

  1. I love a parade and this one would be worth traveling to San Antonio to see! Your photos are wonderful. We traveled through Texas last year and enjoyed learning about the history. There were many times we felt as if we had stepped back in time as we imagined the cattle drives and cowboys.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am swooning over these photos! Especially that one with Longhorns! But how colorful they are and how cool that they do take us back in time!!!
    You amaze me with all of your pictures. Your computer must be filled with flash drives and files! You are an awesome photographer!

    Like

    • It wasn’t crowded at all last year, but was packed on the Houston street. I was way behind layers of crowds… Thanks to hubby who got a spot for me. I may come up with another post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy,
    Your pictures are fantastic – again – and make me wish I had been there, too. Well, SA is where I could really go next year, couldn’t I?
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your compliment, Pit! the parade started at 11 am, it was a beautiful day. After parade, we had lunch in DT, then went to the Riverwalk, they had some art shows and musics along the river.
      Parking can be a problem, we parked back in the Broadway, took a bus to DT. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

          • Well, having lived in Fredericksburg for w hile now, we know where to find parking here. If you’re looking for parking, there’s always the HEB, I’d suggest: walking distance to Main. And as far as Austin and/or SA are concerned: we usually go there fore some purpose, either shopping [then we find parking at the venue] or to the Majestic or Paramount [and then free parking in a parking garage is included]. It’s more the traffic that is a nightmare, especially in Austin.

            Liked by 1 person

              • No, Amy, we haven’t been there for a long, long time. Thanks for the advice. We’ll certainly try it some time. Have a great day,
                Pit
                P.S.: Today I might go to WF, though, before I pick my wife up at the airport [she has been visiting with her children in California]. I really like some of the bread [Black Forest Rye and Prussian Rye, e.g.] I can only get there.

                Liked by 1 person

  4. You are very kind and a very, very good photographer. This is quite a parade. And beautifully captured in your lens. The Texas longhorns also formed the basis for the cattle ranches in Wyoming and Montana in the nineteenth century. They play a huge role in the history of the West.

    Like

    • Thank you for the praise. I had a tiny spot and wasn’t able to move around, I could snap what I saw from my lens. So many people put much effort to the parade and the two-week events. You know the Western history well. So glad you enjoyed this post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your Hubby did good in finding just the right spot for you! Gorgeous photos and so colorful! I haven’t been to the SA Livestock Show & Rodeo in years. Never saw the parade though. Every shot is a winner! Cheers!

    Like

    • He was walking back and forth on the street to find a spot for me… Thank you for you compliment. It was so crowded, I just clicked whatever came to my lens. 🙂

      Like

  6. Pingback: Time (Frozen) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  7. Superb detailed photos,incredible sharpness and vibrant colours!I can very well remember this fantastic parade from your previous posts,but this one is so rich!The Longhorns are magnificent and the sheep so lovable and innocent!I did admire the powerful horses as well and especially the one looking at you,dear Amy!How proud we feel when we look back at our history,our heritage and tradition.I like the way you connected it with the “Time” challenge 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you for your inspiring comment, my dear friend. I love to read your comment. ❤ The city and all the people have done a great job to organize this 20 day activities. I apologize for delaying my response. I had to meet the deadline at work today. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

