Monday Walk: Hiking And Walking Trails

Trails at Banff, Canada:

Hiking Tails: Canyons and Lake Powell:

Grand Canyon has approximately 5,000 employees and many are temporary workers according to our tour guide. They are there to ensure this grand place is well maintained and wildlife protected.

Trails are the pride and joy of Texas state/city parks:

 For Jo’s Monday Walk. Jo is taking us to Portugal’s Barranco das Lajes for a beautiful walk.

walking-logo

A couple of months ago, an elderly gentleman approached me while I was taking photos of weeds at the park. After seeing my photos, he told me that he was a volunteer of our local parks. “I just finished cleaning the dry branches and cut dry grass back 3 feet from the trail. It should prevent fire hazard in case someone throw a cigarette on the ground. “

When early spring arrives, our local high school students and teachers volunteer to spend a weekend to pick up litter in various parks to ensure birds have a safe place to breed when they fly back to our nature parks.

While walking, I ran into a retiree who volunteered to plant young trees in the park. My friends, Linda and Beth pick up trash before they begin their daily morning walk. If you get caught by Beth littering there, you’ll get a big lecture. She’ll let you know that your photo  will be sent to the state park/environment website.

They are the quiet heroes. I don’t ever take for granted when I walk on these beautiful trails.

Never-ending effort of preserving nature and maintaining/improving local nature parks and trails:

IMG_0419

I have no idea how many miles I have walked on these trails, but I know I have enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you so much for your company! 🙂

Have a wonderful week!

62 thoughts on “Monday Walk: Hiking And Walking Trails

  1. Pingback: Monday Walk: Hiking And Walking Trails | MadeleineMaya

  2. With shrinking government funds for our parks, the constant work of volunteers is crucial. I, too, admire all the work that is done over the years by park workers–switchbacks and steps, borders and benches, litter-free and walkable trails. I is all due to humans giving us their time and energy. Great tribute, Amy — and fantastic photos. 😀

    Like

  3. What an absolutely stunning post, Amy. I was here for quite a while. We have trails here too, and I LOVE walking them. I like you could spend hours in these areas for they are just so beautiful. LOVED every single one of your images today. And thank you for the stories about the unsung heroes. So good to know there are people in this world who care to make our world a better place for a living beings!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That reminds me that my wife and I really need to do some rail trails again. We had planned to do so this year, for our anniversary, but then, with her having gone on a cruise in Panama and the two of us having been in Germany for four weeks, we gave up on that idea.
    Have a great week,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So many and beautiful trails and lovely photos of the spiral red rock and the lakescape!A real delight to stroll around those surroundings and enjoy nature’s gifts!Beautiful park trails with lush greenery and tall trees and how very thoughtful of you to mention all about the quiet heroes!Great tribute,indeed!Thank you my friend,I feel completely rejuvenated after having those wonderful walks with you 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

  6. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : a sunset stroll | restlessjo

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

