Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge (CCY) Week #6

IMG_2912-Level 11-12

Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge (CCY) is a combination weekly “tips and tricks” combined with a photo challenge. This week’s CCY Theme is Horizontal Line and Horizons.

IMG_4771-Level 11-12

Cee reminds us, “Keep your horizon level. This has actually become a pet peeve of mine. If you are serious about photography, you really need to keep an eye of how level your photo is.”  Click HERE to learn more and join the challenge.

w5a6471-level-level-11-12 (3)

 

I’m not good at in keeping my eye on level, so this is a great learning opportunity for me. I normally use the Lightroom to fix the level.

After posting it, I then tried to cut the bottom of the canyon on one third of the photography and place the plateau more in the center (See photo 3) as my friend suggested. Thank you so very much for your constructive feedback, my friend! 🙂 ❤

=========================================================================

Yesterday, 11/11, was the Veterans Day. Our dear blog friend Nato shares her memories and precious photos. Nato has been deployed three times. “It has not always been easy and fun. Sometimes it was scary and lonely and downright sucked.”

Nato said in her “about”

“I am a Soldier, a mother, a daughter, a sister and a friend. Over the years and through some deployments, I have realized, life is short…”

Thank you for your service, Dear Nato! Click HERE to visit her blog. 🙂

“Stand By Me” was another song that a group of veterans sang on the night before last night for the 2015 AMERICA’S VETERANS: A MUSICAL TRIBUTE.

Enjoy! 51,797,683 hits, so far.

53 thoughts on “Cee’s Compose Yourself Photo Challenge (CCY) Week #6

  1. Hi Amy,
    like you, I normally use after-the-fact editing to fix a non-level horizon in my pictures. With my Nikon DSLR I’m halfway good at getting the horizon level at the time of shooting, but definitely not with my Nikon Coolpix S 9500 or my smartphone.
    I really like the clouds in your last picture here.
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Like

    • Thank you for taking time to comment, Pit! I normally pay more attention to the scene that I want to capture, so I leave no time for the horizon 🙂 Thanks to LR. So glad you like the clouds of the last one. Have a great Thursday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your shots! The canyon one is breathtaking. Is that the Grand Canyon? I know what you mean about leveling too. One of my past coworkers at the photo studio would always laugh and say, do you realize your pictures seem to tilt to the left? They did, and still do unless I really focus on it.

    Thanks for the shout out! How very sweet of you to mention me. [Insert blushing here.] I am honored – thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shots like cinema – great, Amy.
    I like the lighting conditions in the canyon.
    Would you like to try to cut the bottom of the canyon on one third of the photography? You would have the very wonderful light of the canyon in contrast of the impressive sky. Don’t be upset. It’s just an idea 🙂
    Best wishes from far away.
    Ulli

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I love john Lennon! Not in person of corpse… It may be helpful that some focusing screens come with grid lines so you can line up your horizon. Beautiful shot of The Grand Canyon… Here I can only get macros of sidewalk cracks :O(

    Like

  5. I can never tolerate slanted horizons. I MUST fix even the slightest tilt … I think it is a sign of obsessive-compulsive disorder 😦 I’m glad that my new camera has a built-in electronic leveler, but I’m still worried that it is not accurate enough. I think I am sick, haha. Your third picture is super cool. Lovely tone and mood.

    Like

  6. Absolutely “straight” and spectacular photos,you have nothing to worry about,dearAmy,but I know,you want everything perfect that’s why you have become a skillful photographer!Thanks for the link,a really moving tribute,my friend 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

  7. I often don’t see I’ve got a wonky horizon until I see it on the screen at home Amy … I know I have live view and a horizon thingy to use … but oft times I get carried away by everything else infront of me . I’m not saying my ships would drop off the side of the ocean Lol but thank heavens for that straighten tool 🙂
    I love your Crater view under the wispy sky there ..
    Have a lovely weekend Amy !

    Like

    • I agree there are so many things we have to pay attention to, lighting, colors, angle… I don’t have a good eye for horizon, it’s always a struggle. The wispy sky came out better than I expected. Thank you, Poppy! 🙂

      Like

  8. Great shot! And keeping an eye on the horizon is a tough one. I do sometimes fix it when editing. Am I cheating… perhaps but it works for me. So much to pay attention too when taking our lovely captures of beauty!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

