Monday Walk: Texas Countryside (Pt 1Ranch)

_MG_1307-Edit-2

My walk started on a foggy Sunday morning. It’s beautiful here before and after sun raising, beautiful after sun setting, even more so on a foggy morning.

_MG_1311-Edit

It’s already mid October, but I don’t feel fall is here. It had been 10 degrees above normal last week here, which makes us wonder how winter is going be like. We hope the strong El Nino will bring some rain this winter to the southern tier of states and California.

_MG_1326--horse

Lots of old oak trees here, where cows and horses love to rest under these trees in the shady spots.

_MG_1431

_MG_1451

Grass is turning brown, but bushes and tree are still pretty green.

_MG_0349

Cyclists are everywhere on Sunday morning.

_MG_0070

sky-1

Submitting to Jo’s Monday Walk.

Last weekend, while we were waiting for our lunch to be served, a lady at her mid-60s initiated a conversation, she then voluntarily told us that she is single and owns a ranch. I said to her, “It sounds like a complicated business.” She said, “If you have the money and want to buy a ranch, but you know nothing about ranch business, you can hire ranchers to run it for you.” She also said that these ranchers are mobile, they like to work from ranch to ranch and move from one state to another. She then said, “If you break even at the end of the year, you made it.”

Before she got into her ranch business conversation, she bluntly asked me a bunch of questions including where we live and what we do, etc. That is how it goes when we eat in a restaurant, on an airplane, at a hotel… I recall when we were flying back from Howaii, I was irritated by a series of personal questions posed by a woman who was sitting next to me, maybe I was tired. So I said to her (with a smile) that I probably have answered her questions more than one hundred thousand times to different people. But it didn’t stop her, she just had to know. I’m just wondering, do you pose personal questions to a stranger? Have you been asked personal questions, do you answer those questions?

Be sure to take a walk with Jo: FABRICA TO CACELA VELHA.

walking-logo

Have a great week! 🙂

54 thoughts on “Monday Walk: Texas Countryside (Pt 1Ranch)

  1. Your photos here are really stunning Amy. The fog expresses such a mood, made more obvious when you see the non-fog photo in the same setting. My favorite photos are the single cow under the sunny oaks, the oak trees are highlighted beautifully; and the last one — that expansive Texas sky in gorgeous colors and shapes. 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s a foggy morning here, but it rained all day yesterday. We ALWAYS get asked. When you live in an RV and travel, people want to know. We have a short answer that we use. And if they push…..sometimes they get an answer, but maybe not.

    Like

  3. Love the mood fog provides. I’m always talking to strangers. Sometimes it’s fun and sometimes it’s not (especially when tired). Sometimes I’ll make up stories for shock factor usually when I really don’t want to be bothered. Exotic dancer at the senior center always makes folks uncomfortable 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have had some great experience of talk to strangers/travelers. But, the aggressive (I meant they just have to know 🙂 ) personal questions is not something anyone can feel comfortable. I appreciate so much of your feedback, Ingrid! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful captures Amy. I don’t seem to get a lot of personal questions from strangers. If I do I tend to answer superficially and then turn the conversation to them and become the asker of the questions.

    Like

  5. It depends really, Amy. Some people are open and eager to chat while others like to keep themselves to themselves. I’m usually in the chat bracket (you guessed, didn’t you? 🙂 ) and will tell anyone my life story, but I don’t like questions that seem to pry. 🙂 Maybe you have an approachable face 🙂
    My walk this morning was extremely foggy too, but with lots more Autumn to it. Many thanks for linking to me.

    Like

  6. What a lovely walk with alternating sceneries,dear Amy!I so much like the low fog above the fields and the pastoral scenes with the cows!The trio cow portrait is absolutely fascinating!I also got my laugh with Ms “Nosey Parker” lol.If they feel lonely,they should strike up a more decent conversation.How beautiful your last photo is,my friend!Loved the ever-changing shapes of the clouds and the walk with you 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

    • So glad you enjoyed this walk. I didn’t have to work very hard to get good photos there. Always happy to have you here on Monday Walk. 🙂
      These people just have to know someone else’s life, no matter what…

      Liked by 1 person

  7. These look like they could’ve been taken at the acreage my in-laws used to own. They are so familiar, but also beautiful. I’m a magnet for folks who get too personal, but they usually just tell me all about their own stories. I don’t why really… my mom says I collect strays. I guess I have a habit of reflecting their questions back at them, and I usually don’t have to say much when they start talking about themselves.

    Like

  8. Strangers, especially on trains, can be so intrusive. I did once manage to say I didn’t want to talk. I don’t ask personal questions, but sometimes respond to what i am asked. The trouble is that in these situations you can be a captive.

    Like

  9. Hi Amy. The last shot is my favorite. A great vista. As for your question–I am always finding myself in the middle of a conversation with a total stranger which is startlingly personal. Usually people are telling me their life stories…which I usually don’t mind, since I am a writer! Recently a cashier in an olive oil store told me about his allergies, why he has asthma, his work with addicts, and his experimentation with LSD. Wow. What do you say to that??

    Like

  10. I love the fog photos… they could have been boring but the composition makes the difference… you have a good sense of composition fog or no fog! As for answering questions it really depends on my mood and the situation I’m in. Because I have an accent that nobody can identify I get a lot of people guessing where I am from… this has only happened a billion times and people don’t seem to get that, think they are the first … sometimes I am very vague or sometimes make a joke. One thing that always seems to work is answering a question in one or two words then looking away or totally changing the subject, or if I am with a friend pretend to be in a conversation with them. I understand people want to know and I probably overreact but I am more than tired of it! I NEVER ask people where they are from unless it is pertinent to the situation or we are having an in depth conversation, but not asking strangers just for my own curiosity. Obviously, that subject presses my buttons!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • After answering these questions, where, what, … it’s getting old. I don’t feel like to entertain strangers with my own stories.So much out there to see to know… what ask about personal questions? Thank you for your advice, I certainly will practice and use it. 🙂 Thank you so much, Roslyn!

      Like

  11. Lovely atmosphere …beautiful mist .. who could resist it 🙂
    I’d rather more of the block out mist with some people’s type of questions when travelling too Amy …

    Like

  12. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Thorp Perrow | restlessjo

  13. Love the cows and the last photo. Have skimmed through the answers to your question and don’t have any wisdom to add, I’m afraid. Personal questions are nosy and rude, but I don’t mind exchanging general remarks with strangers. Sometimes, even that is too much depending on where you live – here in Glasgow I would always have a chat with, say, a check-out operator, but when my sister and her family visit from London they think that is totally weird!

    Like

  14. Love the misty photos Amy, as for inquisitive people, I don’t mind exchanging general information as long as it is not too personal, that’s just rude. Maybe just smile and nod and if they persist make your excuses and leave! I always have a book with me just in case 🙂 But like Anabel I will have a friendly chat to the supermarket cashier and the butcher – nothing personal though, usually about the weather. We love talking about the weather 😀

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting the photos, Jude. Appreciate your advise. I enjoy exchanges. But,some people insist on asking personal questions. Weather can lead to a fun conversation. 🙂 See you later, Jude.

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

