After Before Forum Week 61 (Texas State Capital Buidling)

_MG_0246 - Before-9-24
Before

Above is the Before image of the capital of Texas (Austin), captured with canon 50 mm lens.

As you can tell the Canon 50 mm lens did a pretty good job capturing the details of the building and the flags.  All I did was to crop the photo via the Lightroom, then sharp it little bit through the Nik Efex (I could have done it in the LR).

_MG_0246-Edit - before-email

Here is the after image:

mg_0246-edit-9-25-after-final-1

 

Reinhold (Reinhold Staden PHOTOGRAPHY) gave me a wonderful suggestion for my ABF #60– “a variation could be to leave the American flag in color while the rest is monochrome.” So I decided to give a try. If you haven’t visited Reinhold’s photography, you have missed his awesome photos.

I thought leaving the flag in color… could be done with just one or two clicks, not so easy. So I went to Ben (Apeture 64) asking for help. Here is the instruction I got from Ben:

  • The easiest way to do selective colour in lightroom is to desaturated all the colours but the ones you want; in the HSL panel.

    If you were to do this with your picture all sliders but blue and red would need to be desaturated, although this will lead to the sky being blue still and then use the bush to desaturated the sky.

  • The other method would be to set the saturation side in the basic panel to -100 and then use the brush with the saturation set to +100 and paint over the flag.

I used the LR blush for this one. I wish I could get these two flags as sharp as the before image.

Thank you so much, Ben! 🙂 If you want to learn more, please visit Apeture 64 to view Ben’s creative photos. Join us! 🙂

Ben's after-before-friday-2015

Ben has developed a Digital Darkroom Photo Editing Series. A great place to get tips and step-by-step instructions.

TGIF!

47 thoughts on “After Before Forum Week 61 (Texas State Capital Buidling)

  1. Great idea, I like imaginative approaches to this challenge. The details of the building are amazing, I just wish there was more contrast in that statue at the top. But I know how hard it can be working with the sky, I am devoting this entire month in One Four Challenge to that. 🙂

    Like

  2. Striking work my dearest friend Amy!The selective colour in the after photo is absolutely magnificent as the sacred symbols have become eye-catching!They merited that!Didn’t they?You’ve acquired valuable experience!Bravo! 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you, Doda dear! I was just telling Sue that these software packages are getting more sophisticated, which means harder to use for users like me. 🙂 Thank you so much for your never-ending support. 🙂 ❤ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the movement in the flags, Amy! As Katie said, not an easy task to have gotten both flying in full at the same time :). Nicely done on the selective coloring 🙂 And thanks for the link to Reinhold’s work. He’s got a new follower!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

