Castle in the Wilderness (Part 3)

0W5A8822- 8-31

“Since we can’t export the scenery, we’ll have to import the tourists.”  ~ Van Horne

To enhance traffic on the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR), Van Horne envisioned a succession of lavish resort hotels along the railway line through the Rocky and Selkirk Mountains.

banff light-two

_W5A0119- 8-31

Light Fixtures in the Banff Springs Hotel are in artistic design, which add beautiful and elegant appeals to the rooms, lobby, and hallways. Each area has its own classic design style. Today’s tour is about these light fixtures.

0W5A9899- 8-31

_W5A9953- 8-31

_W5A9934- 8-31

Banff light-1

 

_W5A0186- 8-31

The photo below was captured through a mirror:

_W5A0121- 8-31

0W5A0382- 8-31

According to our tour guide, the Banff Springs was built in 1888, total of $250,000. It had been doubled in 1903 and 1910. The original wing was destroyed by fire in 1936. In 1999, the 75-million restoration and expansion was undertaken to reposition Banff Springs as one of the worlds leading hotels. Originally a Canadian Pacific Hotel, the Banff Springs became a Fairmont hotel in the fall of 1999.

0W5A8848- 8-31

Thank you for visiting!

Banff Springs (Part 1)

0W5A8850 Aug 10

Castle in the Wilderness (Part 2)

0W5A8874 -8-24

 

58 thoughts on “Castle in the Wilderness (Part 3)

  1. Most luminous tour inside the classy and elegant Banff Springs hotel dear Amy!Light comes from every nook and cranny where the pendant crystal chandeliers poshly grace the space and the vintage wooden lights create a nostalgic atmosphere!Have they kept the same style after the 1936 fire?And last but not least,your photo through the mirror is not overlooked at all 🙂 Happy Monday ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you so much for reading, dearest Doda. They continued to keep the same style through the renovation and expansion using the same kind of stone.
      I always have fear to shoot lights since I have minimum knowledge to control the camera. I had tried different times to capture these lights with a number of camera settings. 🙂 So happy you enjoyed it. Btw, I didn’t expect to capture these three women… Thank you again for your beautiful, encouraging comment. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s lovely they kept the same style!You have so competently use the light,I can’t believe you hesitated at first. Nothing escapes your gorgeous camera lens either day or night!The accidental trio portrait is amazing,it looks as if the ladies stand in a row arranged by the proportions of their height … Have you noticed that ? Sorry,I cannot express it in a better way …

        Like

    • I’m so glad you like it, Rashmi! The last image was a surprise, I had no idea these three ladies were coming since it took me a while to find the right angles and to focus correctly…

      Liked by 1 person

          • I cannot offer any, because I’ve never shot full frame before. This is another reason why I might still get a full frame camera: less noise in low light conditions at higher ISO’s. I’ll see what happens. Thank you!

            Like

            • I didn’t see noise, did you? I also set the the camera to cloud. I’m not sure I should… These lights were challenging to capture. It’s because they used so many lights with different voltages. In the hallway, I had to deal with sunlight too. Sun came out at around 5 am there, it was completely bright before 6 am. I tried at least three different times.

              Like

              • I have very little experience shooting indoors and with very high ISO’s, and no, I didn’t see any noise. I was thinking if you shoot RAW, you can do so many adjustments. That’s what I do. Crop-factor cameras get more noise in low light situations, that I know.

                Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

