Monday Walk: Banff Rocky Mountains

0W5A8576-Aug. 3

“If the rocks in these mountains could tell their story,

they’d describe their birth as sand or dirt grains washed into the warm ancient sea that lay there for millions of years.

 _W5A9475-Aug 3

0W5A8480-Aug 3

They’d speak of sinking to the ocean floor and of being covered over by more and more grains and by the crushed bodies and secretions of countless sea animals.

_W5A9343-Aug. 3

They’d describe how the ever increasing weight pressed the sand grains into sandstone, the mud into shale, and lime into limestone.

_W5A9187-Aug. 3

They’d then tell how they were raised high into the heavens — reborn as the Rocky Mountains.”

This verse was posted by the Lake Louise.

_W5A9415-Aug 3

Castle Mountain Range, each rock layer in the dozens of strata on this mountain (elev. 9,075′), reveals a different chapter in the geological history of the Canadian Rockies:

 

0W5A8908-Edit-Aug 3

Notes:

The Canadian Rockies are quite different in appearance and geology from the American Rockies to the south of them. The Canadian Rockies are composed of layered sedimentary rock such as limestone and shale, whereas the American Rockies are made mostly of metamorphic and igneous rock such as gneiss and granite.

The Canadian Rockies are overall more jagged than the American Rockies, because the Canadian Rockies have been more heavily glaciated, resulting in sharply pointed mountains separated by wide, U-shaped valleys gauged by glaciers, where as the American Rockies are overall more rounded, with river-carved V-shaped valleys between them. The Canadian Rockies are cooler and wetter, giving them moister soil, bigger rivers, and more glaciers. The tree line is much lower in the Canadian Rockies than in the American Rockies.   ~ Wikipedia

Jo is taking us to the beautiful BELLINGHAM AND HARESHAW LINN for a fabulous walk. You don’t want to miss it.

walking-logo

Have a great week!

I hope Sue S will approve this post. 🙂 Sue was traveling Peru, while we were packing for the Banff National Park trip. She has been giving a series of their fabulous trip. Take a look

 

85 thoughts on “Monday Walk: Banff Rocky Mountains

  1. Stunning, magnificent, absolutely enthralling images, Amy!!! I Loved this post!!!!
    What must I do to get my followers to be directed to my blog in the reader when they press comment of more words? I was directed immediately to your blog, but my blog when these options are pressed, takes one to a plain white background NOT my blog, which is really upsetting. I spent a lot of time on my color scheme on Petals.
    Anyways ….. GREAT and powerful post, Ame!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • What… Have you reported to WP? I have had some problems with the reader ever since they changed the reader setting! 😕
      Thank you for your encouraging comment, Amy! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just spoke to WP and I was the one who figured it out. Those whose blogs end with .com are being directed right to their blogs. Those of us who have wordpress.com on their addy, are taken to a preview page, plain white. It’s terrible and it is NOT right. I spent a lot of time on my color scheme. And I don’t think WP is going to do anything about it because I was told that is the way it was meant to be set up as. Grrrrrrrr ……

        Like

      • When I had my settings on summary my photos were not coming through in the reader. I spoke to WP about it and they told me to choose full text. *sighs* I will again try to put my settings on summary because that is where I had it in the first place. Then the reader was changed drastically and like I said my photos were not being seen.

        Liked by 1 person

          • I changed settings today. I did not do it on my last post. But on my next post, the changes will be on it so I will see. I spoke to support today and got absolutely nowhere. I was SO upset by the entire ordeal. They are just going to do what they want regardless. I am crossing my fingers this works. I had the summary setting on my posts for years and then when the reader was updated to what it is now, my pictures were not coming through. Support told me to change from summary to full text in order for my pics to show on the reader. *sigh* I really appreciate your help. ❤

            Like

  2. Hi Amy,
    These pictures make me envious and just long for travelling. Maybe we should just sell our house and get an RV?! 😉 We have been thinking of that. If it wasn’t for the animals, who knows.
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy I definitely approve! You have captured our beautiful Rockies, and might i add some of the iconic peaks, in a fabulous way. Thank you so kindly for sharing the link to my blog. Very much appreciated. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : sea glass at Seaham | restlessjo

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

