Monday Walk: Bow River

_W5A0284-Bow

Banff National Park in Canada had been on our bucket list for long while. We finally decided to take a grand tour in July. We stayed in the town of Banff and used it as a base to explore Rocky Mountains, lakes… The beautiful Bow river runs through the town. It was only a half mile from where we were staying, pretty convenient to take morning and/or evening walk.

The name “Bow” refers to the reeds that grew along its banks and were used by the local First Nations peoples to make bows; the Peigan name for the river is “Makhabn”, meaning “river where bow reeds grow”.

_W5A0259-Edit-Bow

_W5A0020-Bow

On our last day in Banff, hubby didn’t want to miss the Wimbledon Semi Finals, so I took a solo walk with my camera. 🙂  5 miles to downtown and back to the Banff Springs. 

_W5A0311-Bow

_W5A0307-Bow

_W5A0335-Bow

_W5A0032-Bow

These beautiful horse trainers were taking horses for a morning walkout.

_W5A0326-Bow

_W5A0319-Bow

The weather was surprisingly warm during the week (the first week of July) we were there. It went up to low 90 F one day, but mornings were very pleasant. We were told by the local people that it was 7-8 degrees higher than normal.

Jo’s Egton Bridge walk for this week is fabulous. Take a look

walking-logo

Thank you for visiting! 🙂

75 thoughts on “Monday Walk: Bow River

  1. Good morning Amy,
    Those rivers in the Rockies are wonderful, aren’t they? They’re something I sometimes miss here, in gthe otherwise beautiful Texas Hill Country.
    Thanks for taking me on that walk,
    Pit

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be hiking and camping in the Rockies the whole of next week. All the way up to Mt. Robson, then Jasper and Banff. I suddenly realize that my camera batteries may not last more than 3 days and impossible to recharge them in the backcountry! Heck, I better worry about my legs first. For now, I will just enjoy your shots 🙂

    Like

    • You’re so right about that. Hubby is very patient when it comes to my photographing, but I enjoy so much more when I’m taking my solo trip or walk. 🙂

      Like

  3. What a lovely trip, Amy. It looks like a lovely place to walk to your heart’s content. Love the shots of the horses. A very neat single file there. No pushing, no shoving, no rushing. Looks like you had a good time with your camera 🙂

    Like

  4. Awesome landscapes, Amy. I think I have to put Canada on my “must visit” list. I usually walk with my wife. She has a Leica Pocket. And sometimes I look at her images and think “were we really at the same place?”. Greetings from a very rainy and windy north of Germany. Reinhold

    Like

  5. Wonderful photos – glad you had such a great trip! I live about an hour from Banff and your photos remind me that it is time to go back there and enjoy the scenery.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Bellingham and Hareshaw Linn | restlessjo

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

