Throwback Thursday: A Season Of Giants

school of athens

Recently, a few of my blog friends have visited Rome and Vatican. As I enjoy their fabulous travel photos, I recall the trips we made to Italy and the post that I did over a year and half ago, entitled “A Season of Giants”.

The School of Athens frescoes in the Vatican is the master piece of Rapheal. He painted Leonardo da Vinci as Plato, Michelangelo as Heraclitus, and himself as Apelles (a renowned painter of ancient Greece in the 4th century BC). Rapheal formed the traditional trinity of great masters of any time on the painting.

Leonardo was more than thirty years older than Raphael, and Michelangelo was eight years his senior. Both Michelangelo and Raphael were in Vatican about the same period of time working on their commissions by Julius. Michelangelo’s Sistine Ceiling was completed in 1512 (began in 1508) and Raphael’s Room of the Segnatura was completed in 1511 (began in 1508).

Leonardo died in Amboise, France, at 57 (April 15, 1452 – May 2, 1519); it was said that he was by the side of King Frances who brought aged Leonardo to Amboise.  Michelangelo lived to the age of 88 (March 6, 1475 – Feb. 18, 1564) three weeks before his 89th birthday; he requested to rest in his beloved Florence. In 1520, at 37, Raphael died on Good Friday (April 6); and he wanted to be buried in the Pantheon in Rome.

With the ringing of the bells that saluted the new treasures acquired by Pope Julius.

The story of the Season of Giants was concluded…

it would have no equal in the flowing of history through the centuries untour time.

~ Vincenzo Labella

Source of these images: Wikipedia

=====================================================================================

Helen takes fascinating street photos. She made a two-week trip to Italy in May. Her first post of her grand trip included three street photos. She said,”Interestingly, in this trip, I came to a realization (didn’t know how I did it) that street photographing is not just catching a specific moment of someone’s (a stranger) life, but it is catching a moment of someone’s life that I feel connected to.”  This explains why her street photos always tell stories.

Take a look of these photos and read about her photo experience in Italy.

Thank you for reading. Happy Thursday 🙂

25 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: A Season Of Giants

  1. I enjoyed learning about the School of Athens, Amy, and appreciate the artwork here. Thanks too for the link to Helen’s blog, I have enjoyed her lovely work. 😀

    Like

  2. God morning, Amy! Wow, thank you so much for referring to my blog. I’m dancing in clouds now. 😉 Your photo instantly brought me back to Italy. Lots of amazing art works (and great pasta!) I remember thinking how could it be possible that they have so many gifted artists (almost) at the same time in the same area. It amazes me! The Sistine Chapel is my favorite. I didn’t want to leave there!
    Thanks, Amy for bring back good memories! Have a wonderful day!

    Like

    • My great pleasure, Helen! So glad this post brought you good memories. Renaissance is such a glorious time, we visited Florence three times… The Sistine Chapel was recovered beautifully. If I’m not mistaken, Japanese donated generously for this projects. Thank you so much for your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. beautiful photo Amy and interesting things about School of Athens. Helen’s blog on street photography in italy was a good read. thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting Helen’s blog. I haven’t see street shots like she does. Thank you for reading this post. I will be taking a breaking starting this weekend, but will have three scheduled short post for next week. 🙂 I should be able to read your posts via wifi. 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you for your support and compliment, Perpetua. Thank you for reading. 🙂 I will be taking a break starting this weekend, will have a few scheduled posts for next week. I should find time to chat with you. 🙂

      Like

  4. Superior theme,Amy Dear!You have so efficiently captured The School of Athens,these supreme frescoes!
    I am looking at my ancestors … and I feel so bitter inside that my country is falling apart now … Sorry for being a wet blanket,but I am very depressed in spirits.Thank you so much for the Enlightening posts you share with us and of course for being so kind and supportive.Btw,I visited Helen’s post and I so much enjoyed her work and her approach!Sending love & hugs to you,my dearest friend 🙂 ❤ xoxox

    Like

    • It’s very worrisom… We hear from the news everyday… Glad you took time to see Helen. Her street photos are her speciality. Hope things will go well for Greece…

      Like

  5. Incredible works! You know I was so stubborn of just visiting Sistine Chapel and not take pictures. I’ve been there a number of time. I kind of regret it now. 🙂 Thanks for the good read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for reading. I didn’t take photos of the Sistine either, i didn’t know how to take pics of this massive artwork. So i bought a book. 🙂

      Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

