Throwback Thursday: Two Different Lives

man-boy-reflection

This photo still touches me as it did more than a year ago, when I first saw it in the National Geographic Your Shot. In my previous post, I said:

“Merve Ates’ photo reflects a man’s life journey — from a young man with worries and wonders into a calm state of mind of an elderly. Perhaps, it’s a story of one life.” This time, I noticed that the seagulls in the photo may symbolize how time flies and the waves indicate the ups and downs of one’s life. All in one photo.

I’d say this is one of the very few photos that tells story beautifully and philosophically. Let me know your thoughts.

==========================================================================

Two Different Lives by Merve Ates, National Geographic Your Shot. This is how Merve explains:

“I was traveling between the European and Asian sides of Istanbul, Turkey, by ferry,” says Your Srhot contributor Merve Ates. “I was sitting on seats outside, accompanied on my journey by seagulls. The boy on the right was sitting next to me. … It seemed like the man and the boy were sitting side by side. In reality, the old man was reading the Koran, while the young boy had a worried look on his face. Two separate lives, together in the same frame.”

========================================================================

If you want to see the best photos of California through Highway 1, you must visit this blog site. Click HERE. “Now I dare you … I triple dare you to not take any pictures while driving from Los Angeles to San Francisco (or vice versa) using California 1…” Rommel says.

 

48 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Two Different Lives

  1. Good morning, Amy. I love this photo! Lately, I’ve questioned how to do a better job in telling stories with photos and this photo definitely provides me one possible answers. Thank you so much. (I think the people in the background also adds to the story.)
    Have a great day!

    Like

    • Your photos always tell stories, Helen. I’m glad you think this one gives some possible answers. I know this is one the photos stays with me. 🙂 Thank you for letting me share it with you. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not to sound disrespectful or anything, but I am reminded of that old joke, “If you’ve directed three hit movies, people find meaning in your films that you didn’t put there in the first place.” 😀

    Like

  3. a very touching post and beautiful reflection about life. every image is symbolic of time and the entire photo encapsulates man’s journey in life. thanks so much for sharing, Amy! 🙂

    Like

  4. I am discovering that reflections are fascinating, Amy. Your interpretation of the seagulls and waves I really liked and I was agreeing with you as I read your words. Absolutely thought provoking post. Thank you! Love, Amy ❤

    Like

  5. Sometimes we are lucky to be there at the right moment and an opportunity such as this presents itself. It is up to you to appreciate it. Such a thoughtful picture. The beauty of it is gives you pause to think.

    Like

    • This one does get you to pause to think. Had I have the right moment, I probably would take a image of the older man and another of the young boy. 🙂 Thank you for stopping me, Bebs.

      Like

  6. I came across your blog via a like on ours. This is a great photograph, well seen, framed and taken. A picture IS worth a million words. Each of your 55 likes will read it differently. I read the young man is with his thoughts maybe on the world and and the and carrying its weight. The other man looks at peace with himself and the world but each line in his face and each grey hair the medals of his journey so far. Thank you for seeing this photograph and taking it.

    Like

    • I really like your interpretation of this photo. The young man… carrying its weight, the other… each grey hair the medals of his journey. Very beautiful, moving… Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      Like

  7. Everything is close: youth and old age, sky, sea and land, bright and dark, human and animals …
    Thank you for sharing the photo and your thoughts, Amy 🙂
    Greetings,
    Ulli

    Like

  8. I love it, it’s superb! I love the framing and the difference of age between the two men. The birds help to compose the image perfectly! One of my favorite ones!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

