Monday Walk: Mules, Bikers, Hikers, Elk…

Here are a few photos that I captured while we were hiking and walking along the south rim of the Grand Canyon.

_W5A6350-01

Mule trips take you down to the Canyon. It looks like a great adventure. But you need to booked it way ahead of time. It may be reserved 13 months in advance.

_W5A6355-01

Cycling is pretty popular. Transportation by private vehicle is not permitted at Grand Canyon West. Yep, you heard it right!

However, the Hop-On Hop-Off Shuttle service is great. The bus takes you from point to point.

_W5A6854-9

_W5A6230-7

First time Grand Canyon hikers tend to react to the experience in one of two ways: either they can’t wait to get back, or they swear they’ll never do it again.

_W5A6232-Edit-1

Elk is crossing a busy street. This is a village area where you can park your car.

_W5A6590-5

Yay, she made it. 🙂

_W5A6594-6

Walking the trail gives you a visceral appreciation for the magnitude of geologic time. Bronze markers mark your location in time; every tenth marker is labeled in millions of year.

_W5A6379-4

Note: The Grand Canyon is one of the country’s first national parks; one of the Seven Natural Wonders.

 Jo is taking us to the village of Estoi for a pleasant and beautiful walk. Enjoy the walk with Jo…

walking-logo

Thank you for visiting. Have a great week. 🙂

79 thoughts on “Monday Walk: Mules, Bikers, Hikers, Elk…

  1. Beautiful photos. I would love to do that mule trip to the bottom of the canyon as that sounds more fun than hiking it. FYI…. that’s a female Elk not a deer. Isn’t it amazing how the Elk roam among people and traffic without a care?

    Like

    • Done. Thank you, Ingrid! Mule trip to the bottom and back may take two days. I thought we could walk up there and book for the next day trip. 🙂

      Like

  2. Mind blowing pictures, Amy. I was at the Grand Canyon when I was 14 years old, and I have never forgotten it. How I long to go back!!! Your images allowed that “feeling” I’ve had within me all these years to surface. I really thank you for that, Ame. I’ve got tears in my eyes. You really don’t know how much I want to see the Grand Canyon again in this lifetime. Love, Amy ❤

    Like

    • You were only 14 yrs old… Hope you get to see it again. They have done so many improvements since we visited there a decade or so ago. Glad I could share these photos with you. Thank you, Amy 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. No way in a million years would I ride those mules… I enjoyed hiking down but when those mules passed me it was scary…. even though they are probably more sure footed than I am! Lovely photos.

    Like

    • I heard it’s scary to ride the mule in GC. I wanted to give a try this time, didn’t know the ride was that popular. We did the hiking. Thank you for visiting, Roslyn! 🙂

      Like

  4. Your photographs offer beautiful close-ups of the Grand Canyon – just love them! I’ve not been there, except overhead and it’s on the wish-list.

    Like

  5. It’s been so many years since I visited the Grand Canyon. I was young and crazy enough to want to hike down but I couldn’t get anybody else to want to. So it’s something I’ll never experience! Great photos! 🙂

    Like

    • A grand place to explore. We hiked down and walked along the rim. but didn’t go all the way down, which needs require one night camping. 🙂

      Like

  6. I once caught a sunset at the GC. It was the most amazing thing that I’ve ever seen in my sunset life.
    I hope to one day make a trip to the GC with the fam. We’ll see.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : more Yarmouth! | restlessjo

  8. It is an amazing place, so much better in reality than any photos can show (the vastness of it I am referring to). I love the way you have concentrated on the different ways one can access the canyon. I’d be too terrified to go on a mule, too out of shape to hike down to the bottom. No, I preferred simply walking along the rim at the top – great views from there too 🙂 Did you hike down Amy?

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

