If coffee were a religion…

542

global-coffee-consumption-statistics

~ Source: coffeeforless.com

According to the Harvard School of Public Health: The US spends $40 billion on coffee each year.

Take a look of  the coffee drinking  statistics:

  • Percent of coffee drinkers who go to premium places (Starbucks, Coffee Bean) when they get coffee: 34%

  • Percent of people who go to lower-price outlets (McDonald, Dunkin Donuts, etc.) when they get coffee: 29%

  • Total number of U.S. daily coffee drinkers: 100 millions

  • Total amount of yearly money spent on specialty coffee in the U.S.: 18 million

    For more information, click HERE  …

64 thoughts on “If coffee were a religion…

  1. Well, for me coffee IS a religion – very closely to that, at least. I AM a worshipper of a good coffee. 😉 Just sipping some excellent Costa Rican. 🙂
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Like

  2. Don’t take my coffee from me! Seriously! That is the first thing I reach for in the morning, limiting myself to two grand cups. I read somewhere that coffee helps fight certain types of skin cancer. Is that not incredible? These stats, Amy, are mind boggling, but it is good to see I am not alone in loving my coffee. GRIN! (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

  3. Interesting post! I definitely prescribe to the coffee religion myself. 😉 I wonder what the stats are for Asian countries? Here in Seoul, coffee culture is relatively new (maybe 10-15 years), but now we have the most Starbucks in the world, and there’s literally a coffee shop – indie or chain – every hundred metres. Many of them are 3 stories tall, and the shocking thing is that they all do good business. Funnily, a coffee shop here is more likely to be full at 10PM, than 10AM…

    Like

    • Wow, every hundred meters… that is a huge coffee business there. I’d be curious to read about the stats in Asian countries. Thank you so much for sharing the information and commenting, Shelley! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Very interesting, Amy. I, too, have to have a cup the first thing in the morning. My husband gets up earlier than I do so he gets the job of making coffee. One day he decided to switch to decaf coffee without telling me. For several days, I didn’t have any energy, and I thought I was ill (and I was afraid of telling him). Eventually I found out and I started making my own coffee and I feel much better 😉 Thanks for a wonderful post.

    Like

    • Good morning, Helen. It’s nice of hubby to get up earlier to make coffee for you. 🙂 My hubby still buys Folgers coffee, but I like gourmet coffee 😉 Yeah, we a big difference there.
      I think we depend on caffeine more than we think we do. Thank you so much for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I do love my coffee for sure, but I do prefer making it myself. Those places are way too expensive for my taste. 😆
    Great post Amy. 😀

    Like

  6. I never would have thought Finland would be at the top, interesting.

    I like mine not too hot, but not too cold.. which results in strange looks when I try to make that request at Starbucks.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. fun post – and about 6 years ago my sister realized she was penguin almost 1,000 dollars at the coffee shop nearer work – and so they installed a cool capp maker and made aveda tea for the staff – and have been saving lot sod money ever since. I can see why some folks gladly pay their daily bucks for convenience and taste – so these stats do not surprise me – but whew – that’s a lotta java moola —

    Like

    • $1000 for coffee, wow! Glad she figured out a smart way to enjoy and save $$, and for her her staff. 🙂 I bet a lot of people don’t have idea of how much $$ they spend on a cup of coffee can add to this much … Than you for share this! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • well it was something like 885 – I remember that because I actually got a scratch pad out and did the math – it was like 211 days at four something per day – but funny how these things add up – and sometimes they can be a worth it kind of expense 0 but in her case it was not….

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Great concept impressively presented my dearest Amy!An out of your standards post with interesting statistics,a most captivating title and compelling photos!It’s truly a magical,stimulating sunstance that brings people together and also awakens our senses in the morning.Nothing better than a cup of scented coffee before we start our daily schedule.I would love to have a cup of coffee with you my sweet friend!Thank you for this exceptional post!
    Love & warm spring hugs to you 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  9. As a person who is passionate about my coffee, I loved the title and the sign with his message!! I prefer my own home-made DD 1/2 decaf, 1/2 regular coffee (4-5 cups a day – and it never keeps me up at night;)) , and cannot imagine what people like about Starbucks coffee. This was a terrific, fun, Informative post – thanks!!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

