Explore The Elements: Earth, Water, Air, and Fire

This post is in response to Trablogger’s nomination for the Thomas Cook’s Explore the Elements Travel Photo Challenge.

 “Some things will never change. Some things will always be the same.

Lean down your ear upon the earth and listen…

Earth

Earth

Water

Water  

DSC08609-04

Air

Fire

 

Only the earth endures, but it endures forever.”

~Thomas Wolfe “You Can’t Go Home Again” 

I’m honored for the nomination. Perhaps, Trablogger sort of knows I enjoy taking photos of nature. If I had only one choice of all the photo challenges, this would be the one. Thank you, J! 

*********************************************************

I don’t know how  you’d interpret poetic photo. To me, a poetic photo is exquisite; it may not bring you a stunning experience, but does tell a beautiful story. When you read that story through the photo, you are letting yourself imagine and wander, thus the photo stays with you, like a poem. 

********************************************************

Note: The first photo was taken at the Li River, China. 

Thank you for visiting! 🙂   

 

71 thoughts on “Explore The Elements: Earth, Water, Air, and Fire

  1. Good morning, Amy. Beautiful photos. Your photos bring me a peaceful mind, and I love it.
    Spent several days in Scottsdale to escape from the coldness. Even though I didn’t comment, I didn’t skip reading your blog 😉

    Like

    • I’m so glad you made a trip to Scottsdale. I saw your likes :), thank you so much for finding time to visit, Helen. 🙂 Looking forward to viewing your new project.

      Like

  2. All wonderful photos but the first one is definitely my fave… the pastel blues receding into the distance…. it is a mystical scene… I expect Shangri La is tucked behind that last mountain range.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your photos are exactly what you describe – poetic. They are astonishing and just make you dream. I wish I could be transported to any of them and just gaze in wonderment.

    Like

    • I’m so touched by your comment, Bebs. It made me smile, I’ll be smiling the rest of the week… 🙂 Thank you so much for letting me share these photos with you!

      Like

  4. Spectacular photos, Amy. You nailed all four of them. Your interpretation of exquisite is interesting. To me, it would mean a photo that conveys a story that is heartfelt, happy or sad. Usually it’s a photo I find it hard to tear my eyes away from. Hope you’re having a good start to the week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very dramatic images! Are you saving all these stunning shots for some special occasions?! 😉 I am sure you have some more hidden in your computer for future surprises 😀
    Thank you for your kind and poetic words. You are always kind 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, I saved them for this special one. 😉 Now, you know why I think J’s photos are poetic. So happy you find time to visiting. I know how busy you are while traveling and posting. Love you recent posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t this a wonderful theme? If you don’t submit to Thomas C. there should be a deadline. I’m not submitting. 🙂
      Thank you so much for visiting while you are trying to recover, Rashmik!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s all the goodness of Nature,its absolute grandeur,Amy Dear!Entranced by the first one,by this magical thin veil spread over and above all the distant mountain crests!As for the last one,the sky is really ablaze,you so intensely rendered the element.Excellent choice of quotes as well,but I would like to finish my comment by mentioning Aristotle’s theory about the 4 basic elements,and one more the 5th,which is invisible.
    According to his theory, the fifth element is called “aether ” , the quintessence,the unchangeable substance the stars are made … AndI,I would like to describe your post and your photos : Ethereal,which comes from the 5th element …
    And,you used the invisible magic of the 5th element :Aether” Bravo !Really touched by the power of your work ! Have a nice new week my lovely friend 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Oooh, Dearest Doda. I think you have all the work for me and made my post meaningful and beautiful. So great to learn about Aristotle’s 5th element. I’m so very touched by the 5th element you use to describe my humble post. Thank you so much, my dear friend. 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx
      Btw, what do you think about Trablogger's 4 element post?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. To be honest,I didn’t visit it last night,I was extremely tired and it was so late …
    I did it now,it is beyond words,I left my comment and my like !Thank you Amy Dear 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

  8. This is one of your many greats. I love your images. Even more impressed when you said that poetic photos may not provide great experience but they tell stories. Very well said. Your images, your words … bow.

    Like

    • And let viewers imagine and wander.. I said this about your photos sometime ago! I always admire your artistic work and creative thinking 🙂 thank you for you beautiful comment about my humble photos. 🙂

      Like

    • That is a high praise, Jo! I love the challenge because it’s environment and nature related. But, I’m not submitting though. Numerous top notch photographers are there to compete. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

