Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds (Great Blue Heron)

The Blue Heron is back! 

0W5A2961-Edit-3-02

WPC: Rule of Thirds

********************************************************************************

I enjoy reading Mabel’s series of food. She didn’t just talk about food, but telling stories of why we enjoy certain food and how we eat; also blended with culture, stories, and her personal experience. Why we eat together at home…  is one of the her food series.

Mabel said, “I’m a person of Chinese ethnicity residing in Melbourne. I always find myself transitioning between adopting a persona favouring Chinese values that I’ve been brought up with and a persona that takes on the Australian/Western mindset.” Perhaps, it’s that mindset made her write a sensitive article, Why Are We Afraid Of Standing Up Against Racism?. She presented it calmly and graciously without mixing her own emotions (yes, she has had some unpleasant encounters). I applaud her.

It take audacity, sensibility, and insights to write a racism article like Mabel did. Mabel is at 20 ish years old. How a young writer manages to write great stories and sensitive issues is beyond me. 

Thank you so much for visiting!  🙂 

 

100 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds (Great Blue Heron)

  1. wow Amy! what a fabulous photo!! you certainly captured the rule of thirds. great job! my hubby tells me that I’m pretty good at this so now I gotta go look for those photos to enter the challenge 🙂 I love great blue herons…..

    Like

  2. Your photo is absolutely amazing….what a beautiful creature and you captured him so beautifully!
    I agree 100% about Mabel’s blog. She is so insightful and really gives all of us things to think about.

    Like

  3. …and we see the heron again! He still doesn’t look too pleased, but a bit less grumpy in this one. It looks like he spotted something up ahead. Great capture again, Amy. You have a great eye and way documenting birds. Maybe it’s what you focus on?

    Thank you for the blurb about me. I am flattered, you introduced me so graciously 😀 Yes, you are absolutely right that I am 20-something ish…for now…and a few years more… 😀 Thank you for all your love ❤

    Like

    • I may focus on birds a little more than I did… I think it is because I have learned bit about birds. I’m willing to learn to photo birds is also because it’s very challenge. Most of the time I get bad shots (like this morning and last weekend), just have to keep trying. 🙂

      Like

      • You make photographing birds look easy. They always seem to pose for you, or put on a show for you. It’s good that you like birds and like taking photos of them. As for me, I’m just having fun with my camera 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful post, Amy! Your thirds is perfect by the way and this heron is just magical! Your work is becoming more and more amazing every time I see it. I think you are one very talented woman. Thank you, Amy, for showing us your Heart. I in turn think you need to go beyond WP. Let’s do it together, shall we? Love, Amy

    Like

  5. wonderful photo – and I like the effect and theme for the thirds…
    also, you wrote so eloquently of Mabel – and I have seen her comments to people here and there and she seems like she has a heart of gold – indeed young and oh so wise.
    also, wanted to say hope you have a great rest of Feb and see you in a few weeks amiga…
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have so effectively applied the app my dearest Amy!You have really rich knowledge on photography;I simply photo whatever I like and that’s all,and then I can only make it a bit or less brighter or crop it and that’s all.
    Great the Great Blue Heron!Have a wonderful new week 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Thank you, my dear friend, Doda! So much to learn about, but I haven’t been able to apply to my photos. I do basic editing most of the time. Thank you for liking the heron. My first time see the bird. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Great Blue Heron | Agnes's world in pictures

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

