…grows higher than soul can hope or mind can hide

 ~ E.E. Cummings 

…and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

IMG_4841-2 roots buds

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

IMG_4318-2-11

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)

IMG_5034-11

 ~  “I carry your heart with me” by E.E. Cummings

Click HERE for the entire poem…

Note:  E.E. Cummings used nature to express his love in this poem.  “The root of the root and the bud of the bud of a tree…” says that his love was in the wonder like the root and bud; like a tree, his love grew to “the sky of the sky… higher than soul can hope or mind can hide.”

2015 V-day

The above is a recycled photo. It’s my all time favorite photo taken in Orvieto, Italy.  

*********************************************************************

 Thank you for visiting!

71 thoughts on “…grows higher than soul can hope or mind can hide

  1. Thanks Amy, I hope you had a nice Valentine’s Day also; I like E.E. Cummings also, and I like reading his quotes; I really liked the image of the palm tree, and all three. Thanks.

    Like

  2. The third tree is amazing. The trees reminds us of selfless service. Lovely poem to go with the pictures.
    The monochrome Italian photo is lovely as well.
    And thank you again for sharing the chain with your readers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Was Cummings’ poem written for your stunning tree photos Amy ? !!!
    Verses and trees in absolute accordance my sweet friend!The moon watching from above the tangled branches, is a poem … and the soaring skywards palm tree another … And the third one,so powerful and big to sustain the “weight” that some words carry … A brilliant post,a poignant,eloquent Cummings’s poem celebrating life and love!
    Enthralled by the Harmony of nature and the grandeur of love that exists in the human soul …
    I don’t really know how many times I’ll come over and re-read the poem while marvelling at the huge meaningful trees… Thank you for that dearest friend Amy 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Like

    • I hoped you’d like the poem and this post. And, you do, I’m so delighted. 🙂 Nothing thrills me more when I can share my fav poem and photo (Ovieto love scene) with you, dear Doda. Thank you for taking to read and view these photos, my dear friend. I had difficult time to find appropriate photos for this special poem. I’m so glad you like it. 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I honestly don’t know where to begin with this post, Amy, in all I want to say. Your images are just magnificent especially the one of the couple walking their dogs. The poem, the words, the deep food for thought …. all exceptional. Thank you so much for putting together this beautiful post for all of us. Love, Amy

    Like

  5. the tree up views are stunning. I can se why that is your favorite photo – and truly a magical capture – says so much – and the pets and walkway and even the tone add so much – very nice….

    Like

  6. The love of the tree has it’s root dug deeper into the earth to support and hold you strong for the rest of it’s life. I so love the tree and the poem ignites my passion as a tree huger. Love trees, Amy.

    Like

  7. Impressive images here. I love the third picture – showing how awesome the nature could be! The last photo is very moving, if it is mine, I think I am going to hang it on my study room 🙂 Beautiful post and have a wonderful week Amy!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

