Write Now…Yes Right Now…

After reading PhoTrablogger’s “Write Now…Yes Right Now... ” and Indah’s handwrtten Diary, I decided to join the “write now” Challenge.

Below is my mother’s elegant Chinese calligraphy. Mother did it with her special brush, one stroke at a time…

chinese-calligraphy-6

Mother used to spend a couple of hours in the morning copying Chinese classic poems with the Chinese brush, and ink on rice paper. 

The aesthetic of Chinese calligraphy is determined by these ink strokes. Such effort of achieving perfect strokes had been valued as a part of the scholarly discipline.

A couple of calligraphy styles in fact emphasize the stroke techniques. In the past, scholars and artists used these unique techniques to express their emotions or convey either their contentment or discontentment.

PhoTrablogger asked:

“When was the last time you wrote something on a paper? When was the last time you wrote your mother tongue, if you have one different from English? If you haven’t written anything in a long time, why don’t you join the challenge? Write something and post a picture. Challenge someone else. Lets all write!” 

Here is my humble Chinese writing. The top character is horse in Chinese (2014 was the horse year) and the second one is sheep (2015):

IMG_5145

Indah, Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful Travel Diary written in three languages.  PhoTrablogger, you made another awesome call–Write Now..Yes Right Now...!  Please join us.

*************************************************************************************

I’m borrowing the following quote from Seeker’s post Why Write?

  • Write because you want to communicate with yourself.

  • Write because you want to communicate with someone else.

  • Write because life is weird and tragic and amazing.

  • Write because talking is difficult.

  • Write because it polishes the heart.

  • Write because you can.

  • Write because you can’t.

  • Write because you’re trying to figure yourself out.

  • Write because you might not ever figure yourself out.

  • Write because there still aren’t enough love poems in the world.

  • Write because there is a blackbird outside of my window right now and oh my god isn’t that the best start to the day?

Source: BANANGO LIT on Dalton Day Interview

Thank you for sharing so many inspiring quotes, videos, and stories through your post, Seeker!

83 thoughts on “Write Now…Yes Right Now…

  1. My mother kept journals from her travels and they are written in a combination of German/English…. German being her first language. Chinese writing has always boggled my mind. It seems so difficult but yet so beautiful.

    Like

  2. Your Mother’s writing is so beautiful. how special to write the classical poems each morning. i can only read a couple of characters, can you share what your Mama has written? thank you. Debbie

    Like

          • Amy, thank you again for the link. I really do want to read more about your Mother and her dedication to calligraphy and the traditional arts – but I am still getting the page error, even when I followed your instructions re the stone-brush image under stories. It must be my browser. I will try later on in the day or this evening – it’s early morning where I am and I must go about the day.
            Thank you once again. Your mother’s writing provoked me to explore your site last night and I was rewarded by finding so many beautiful images that calmed the soul.
            Debbie

            Like

            • I tried the page click a couple of times, it looks like it’s there. Sorry about the inconvenience. I’m so glad you found my blog that we are connected through our blog. 🙂 I’ll come to see you often 🙂

              Like

            • Hi Debbie, I found out the file indeed was moved to the “draft” file. I’m really sorry for causing the inconvenience. Instead of “publishing” the post, I pasted the entire post in the page under “To speak, I wish, and yet I stall”. Hope this will work. Have a great day! ~Amy

              Like

  3. I really studied and enjoyed your mother’s Chinese characters, Amy, and very much appreciated your characters. I have been writing weekly in a journal for over 40 yrs, and find it a most healing practice. Thanks for reminding us all of its beauty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your post is so beautiful, enjoyed seeing your mothers’ writing – showing a discipline she knew. Wonderful to see your writing, walking in your mothers’ footsteps.

    I agree – we need to write more, the art of forming expressive thoughts no matter the subject is getting lost with technology.

    Like

    • She definitely needs some disciplines (not just scholarly discipline) 😀 I don’t think anyone has seen my Chinese writing. Here I’m posting it on the Internet, free for searching :O I think I am embarrassing myself :$ It really is a cool challenge call. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This post moved me very much. My language is Hebrew, and when I was young, I wrote every day by hand, even though I also had a typewriter. We have both cursive writing and the classical square letters, and I would write using both forms. The writing was a little like meditation, It always brought me calm, and a coming to terms with what was on my heart and mind. Since I began using the computer, about 20 years ago, I have gradually stopped writing by hand, and don’t do so at all anymore. It just doesn’t feel natural anymore. But I do have a longing for those days, and for the process of writing by hand. Thank you very much for your post. I was definitely able to identify with your dear mother, Amy.

    Like

    • I think my mother probably did it for the meditation purpose. Computers and smart phone are efficient tools; as a result, we are stepping further and further away from our traditional culture. Thank you for reading and sharing you thoughts and sentiment. Love to hear from you, Mr. Shimon.

      Like

  6. i’m amazed at the characters, Amy and your mother’s writing is beautiful. how wonderful that you haven’t lost the art. in the modern world, writing, especially cursive is becoming less popular which is sad. great post! 🙂

    Like

    • I only write a few simple characters. Mother was remarkable, she enjoyed reading Chinese classic literature and calligraphy. She was an accountant, and started learning English when she was at 50. 🙂

      Like

  7. Amy, not only can you take excellent shots, you are person of so many talents including calligraphy and putting two and two together and much more.in the bloggosphere. Calligraphy is such an art and I certainly hope you carry on with your Mother’s writing. Thank you for sharing the interview of Dalton’s Why Write. Love this. <3. Taking a peak on my lunch break. 🙂

    Like

  8. Your mum’s Chinese calligraphy looks flawless. So good and all very neat characters. So is your too. I am very impressed. I remember learning to write Chinese as a kid, and it was very challenging for me. Lots of patience needed and a good eye too 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for reading it, Mabel. Glad I have a chance to show my mum’s calligraphy and my humble writing. 🙂 My mum never made me to practice calligraphy (She never let me help with cooking and housework.) She wanted me to become a modern woman had career and be financially independent. 🙂 She was so right.

      Like

      • Your mum’s calligraphy is certainly very legible, like a work of art. I am sure a lot of Chinese will be amazed. My mum also never let me do much cooking or housework – she wanted to do it all because she didn’t want me to get in the way and do it wrong!

        Like

        • This is a 20 inch long calligraphy, I have it hanging in our formal dinning room. I cropped it to this small and probably is not the best part of her writing. I didn’t think people would look closely. Btw, did you like the quote of Why Write? You are a writer, I just wonder what do you think. 🙂

          Like

          • That is a very long piece of calligraphy writing. It must have taken your mum a while to do it.

            I loved the poem, with a very clever ending. Shows that as writers, we are always distracted and restless. My favourite line is, “Write because talking is difficult.” 🙂

            Like

  9. Your Mother’s Chinese calligraphy is beautiful! Your horse and sheep are also beautiful. My handwriting has gotten so sloppy its sad. The art of writing is quickly becoming a lost art!

    Like

  10. Beautiful tribute for your mother and she passed on to you a unique tradition!
    Writing Chinese calligraphy is difficult. It takes lots of patience and dedication – I took Chinese language course years ago, which in the end I had to stop due to time schedule.. 😦 but also back then I was one of the slowest students in the class 😀 😀
    Thank you so much for linking to my post. Your post and images are so beautiful and they remind me of my reason to took Chinese language course in the past – Chinese calligraphy is super unique 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for your inspiring post. I like the challenge, but didn’t know how the best to approach such a meaningful them, until I read your post. I enjoy posting my mother’s calligraphy and sharing it with you. 🙂 I admire your multi-language skills, I agree that Chinese language is difficult to learn to write.

      Like

  11. Interesting!! Ongelukkig ken ek nie Chinese, only afrikaans. But thanks for sharing your and your mothers world with me. Love the poems – so true.

    Like

  12. Beautiful beautiful beautiful, Amy, a post that reached out and touched me. I have been writing through many emotions, an outlet to be validated, and a means to bring Healing to my Heart. Your calligraphy and your Mother’s calligraphy are so delicate, so eloquent, so special. Thank you for sharing these things with me today, Amy. I as of today, have again joined ranks here at WP, willing to share my Heart and touch yours and many others. I’m back, Ame. I have come back to Love. Happy Valentine’s Day, my friend. Love, Amy

    Like

    • Welcome, welcome back, my dear friend, Amy. I miss talking to you, I understand you have a mission. This is a different story to post, really should thank trablog for his thoughts and idea. The art of writing is diminishing… so his call touched my heart. I’m so happy you made an effort to stop by and comment. Your comment brought tears to my eye. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Liked by 1 person

      • Every post you see at Petals, except for the long ones, is first hand written on my yellow legal pad of paper with a pen. I LOVE to write. I miss the days of letter writing. I miss just writing long hand, which I did in collage. I actually had a huge lump on my middle finger from all the writing I did in collage. That bump no longer exists. I miss it. As I really missed you, Ame. It’s been a pretty tough couple of weeks, but I really am standing again on firm ground. I have some pretty cool posts lined up for everyone, and right now, editing some beautiful flowers. Good thing Spring is almost here, because my supply of flowers is getting low. *eek!* You’ve put tears in my eyes as well. I Love you, Amy! (((HUGS))) Amy

        Like

        • You writing is so beautiful, inspiring, and meaningful. Your handwriting must be exquisite. Maybe, you want to post a photo of you handwriting along with your beautiful flower photos. 🙂 Love ya!

          Liked by 1 person

  13. No wonder now … why my lovely Amy is so sentimental,demonstrative and so warm!”Like mother like daughter”
    Moved,really moved by your post Amy!Stunned by the complex Chinese characters and your mother’s exceptional handwriting and her sensitivities! Loved your handwriting too and the very prompting nature of your post!All the quotes included are really so suggestive,I cant help but write … It’s a nice feeling when you put pen down to paper.Isn’t it?
    Great tribute to your mother dear Amy and a very originative post,Your choice for the challenge is the best ever!
    Have a peaceful and enjoyable weekend & a Happy Valentine Day 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Like

  14. I used to write all the time, especially when I travelled. My travel journals are filled with thoughts, sketches and all manner of used tickets, business cards and scraps of paper scribbled with addresses and contacts from people all over the world. There’s something about the tactile feel of turning a page and seeing things written in longhand that give it character. I tried writing again after a long time and I found my hand cramping up with just a few sentances!

    Like

    • It really is something about turning the page… After this post and Trablog’s call “Right Now…” I have an urge to start writing in paper. 🙂 Thank you so much for visiting and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Pancake Week – Hand-Written Recipe | Home that We Built

  16. I can’t remember anything much before I began to write. Maybe because I needed to write to keep the memories safe. I’m after helping to fill in the shortage of love poems and to reward the blackbird.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for visiting this post, Simon. I thought it was a special theme that enable us to share the writings other than English, so I posted mother’s calligraphy.
      It’s always a privilege to read your eloquent writings, stories, and poems.

      Liked by 1 person

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

