Architecture Walking Tour Of Downtown Fort Worth For Monday Walk

“Forty-foot-high transparent walls of glass framed in metal surround the concrete envelope, providing magnificent public circulation areas from which to view the surrounding building, the large reflecting pond, outdoor sculpture, and the landscaped grounds.”  This is how the modern.org descrubes the architecture of the Modern Art Museum located in Fort Worth, Texas.

The museum was designed by the Japanese architect Tadao Ando; and it opened to the public in 2002:

IMG_3221-3 smart

The Bass Performance Hall was built with limestone and designed by David M. Schwarz in 1998:

IMG_2199-2 smart

Many modern condos have emerged in the city. 

IMG_2196-3 smart

The Board of Directors of the Kimbell Art Foundation commissioned Louis Kahn as the Kimbell Art Museum architect in 1966. Kahn designed the building based on the concept of “light is the theme.”  The building has been expanded recently:

IMG_2256-2 smart

Take a look of my favorite building in the city:  🙂

IMG_2209-2-07

 

Architecture is there to enhance life. It is not just an object in space to look at …  It has to contain human activity. It has to make that activity noble.  

~ I. M. Pei

Ingrid (Live Laugh RV) always brings nature beauty to us through her photos and writing. The “Majestic Beauty” is truly special. I always wonder why her bird photos are so different and beautiful. By reading Ingrid posts, it dawned on me, it’s because of her passion for birds and the great knowledge she has.

In her recent “Express Yourself” post, Ingrid posted several beautiful nature photos. At the end of the post, she said eloquently, “In the end, I found it was important to be myself and not try to be something or someone I’m not.  And  then, only then did I discover love…. love for myself and a partner.  Be true to yourself and free to express yourself.” Thank you, Ingrid!

Ingrid used this photo below to close her post: 

Ingrid pic

 Jo is taking us to London for a fabulous walk, LONDON BY MOONLIGHT. You don’t want to miss it!  

walking-logo

96 thoughts on “Architecture Walking Tour Of Downtown Fort Worth For Monday Walk

  1. Quite some spectacular buildings along your route! 🙂 Thank you for the Pei quote, so true and your delightful post, I thoroughly enjoyed this one.
    Wishing you a great new week,
    Dina

    Like

  2. A touch of home – love it. Was at the Kimbell Museum two weeks ago to see the latest exhibit. Your photographs of the FTW are beautiful, even included a shot of my husbands office building – how cool is that. Great Monday Walk!

    Like

    • Happy to know it’s a touch of home. I love Ft Worth! Kimbell is a great museum and I enjoyed their Impressionism exhibit. Thank you for your comment, Mary!

      Like

  3. Good morning, Amy. Again, I feel like I have followed you around the city. What a treat! I.M. Pei quote is great. From now on, I will look at every architecture with a modified mindset and I bet I will appreciate it more. Thanks. Helen

    Like

  4. Wow Amy, thank you so much. I really appreciate your kinds words and the blog mention 🙂 Oh, and I thoroughly enjoyed your architectural tour. I like the angles in the way you captured each building.

    Like

  5. Amy, your architectural shots are outstanding! How to pick a favourite? The second and third, jointly, I think 🙂 But that last building is so fun! We once had a car like that 🙂
    Many thanks for your fabulous shares and the link.

    Like

    • I love the idea of putting the car body on top of the door 🙂 I apologize for the sun reflections on the right side of the window. So glad you like the second and third. Thank you, Jo, for giving us a chance to share our weekly walks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The quote reminded me of Hundertwasser – seems they derived from a similar idea. I don’t fancy modern architecture, that’s why that oldish building surrounded by modern glass sky-scrapers looks so dear to me. Ah, and I agree with your choice of a favorite 🙂

    Like

  7. Amy, It still surprises me when I open your page and see pictures of places I am so familiar with! Excellent photos of Fort Worth. I am not familiar with the final shot. The car over the door. Where is that building?

    Like

    • Thank you, Tree! I need to look at the map to know the location. If I remember correctly, it was close to the bus station. If you face the bus station from DT, it’s on your left hand side. I like Fort Worth DT and the Art Center area.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Jo’s Monday Walk: Hundertwasser House in Vienna | Home that We Built

  9. In all our years in San Antonio, I never made it to Fort Worth. George went several times to the Kimball on business because he was the director of security and visitor services for the McNay in San Antonio. I love that museum.

    Like

    • I wish you did, Susan. It had a major renovation and added a beautiful extension. The city has developed a culture center area that includes the Kimball and a few new art museums. I was impressed.

      Like

  10. You always manage to come up with something different, Jo. That last shot oozes with charm and originality. Whoever thought to decorate the facade with a car must have been smoking some pretty good stuff. LOL 🙂

    Like

  11. It’s a different walk today,away from nature,an intellectual and sophisticated walk around museums and high rise buildings of Brobdingnagian proportions,the real Apotheosis of Architecture!
    You are such a competent photographer,you so impressively displayed everything,loved the Pei’s quote as well!
    It gives me such a special pleasure to walk with you on Mondays no matter where … Hugs to you 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

  12. Some really really really incredible cool-looking architecture that I would be so happy to see for myself. Thanks for the shares, Amy. You have such a wide array of experience and areas of expertise in photography.

    Like

    • Really…? That is a wonderful compliment from our WP blog King. I hope you get to Fort Worth in the future. I know you are in the most beautiful island and don’t have time to think about TX. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing and reading your posts!!!

      Like

  13. I love these images Amy. Such diverse architectural design in Fort Worth, I would never have thought it. The statues on that Performance Hall are so amazing, it looks like something from Prague! But I also like your first image too – beautifully composed shot.

    Like

  14. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Praia da Rocha | restlessjo

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

