Sounds in Nature for Monday Walk

 The three great elemental sounds in nature are the sound of rain,

IMG_3119

IMG_3243

the sound of wind in a primeval wood,

544

and the sound of outer ocean on a beach.  

~ Henry Beston

IMG_2536

IMG_3456-01

While I was walking toward the local coffee house in the early morning, this lovely Java Finch stopped and said to me, “Don’t you just love this place?”

IMG_2805 

Just a few steps away, the Egret slowly stretched his gorgeous wings, then started dancing gracefully along to the sounds of nature.

IMG_2779-02 smart

When I hear either the sound of rain, wood, or ocean, I often think about this quote. I had not heard all three sounds in nature on the same day until I visited the Big Island last December. 

****************************************************************************************************

PhoTrablogger has initiated a Flash Fiction Chain, a brilliant idea! In just a few weeks, the author has been able to gather a chain of stories from creative writers in several countries around the world. And, it’s growing quickly!

Here is how it works:

  • First blogger writes a story inspired from a picture 

  • Second blogger starts from where the first one ended.

  • This repeats till everyone joined in the chain write their stories.

Share your story… Click HERE to get more information and read great stories. While you are there, click to view PhotTraglogger’s cool photos. 

 *************************************************************************************************

 Enjoy Jo’s fabulous walk and join other beautiful walks. 🙂  

walking-logo

 

Happy Martin Luther King Day!  

76 thoughts on “Sounds in Nature for Monday Walk

  1. Ah, that Big Island! I’m quietly jealous, Amy 🙂
    Love your rain and the thundering waves, and thanks for the reminder about King. Cheers to you for your lovely presence on my walks. Have a great week!

    Like

    • My husband wanted to see the volcano area, and we did twice. I was happy to see whales. 🙂 Kona is not as busy as Honolulu, but I have seen many resorts along the beach.

      Like

  2. Wow.. what a befitting pictures for the theme. With those words and perfect pictures, I could hear those sounds! And the flight is captured very well!
    Also thank you very much for the shout out 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting, my friend! The flight capture was so unexpected, so my camera wasn’t ready at all. Happy to know your and your team’s Fiction Chain is growing fast. 🙂 We get a day off today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Unexpected shots captured well are the great shots 😀 yea, luckily I got a great team in there. They are pretty amazing writers, and they rock when it comes to mystery and fantast 😀 Good to know that you had a great day 🙂

        Like

    • I love to go back and say hi to Java Finch! Those birds were so friendly and happy there, I can see why. 🙂
      Thank you so much for spending time here, Indah!

      Like

  3. Good morning, Amy. I am debating if I should leave a comment. There are many comments here and it must take you a long time to reply all. ;-( I have time management problem myself lately. There are two projects I am working on: a photo book and an essay; so far, progress is slow. Anyway, I like the quote a lot. I like walking in the rain (light rain 😉 and listen to trees and ocean. The Java Finch seemed wanting you to follow him (her?). And the Egret is showing off, isn’t she? 😉 Helen

    Like

  4. It’s one thing to be a great photographer. It is another to be an inspirer. I am so happy to know someone who is both 🙂 I love the way you are taking us to appreciate different angles, perspective, in the most gorgeous and generous way. How can you ever complain about the rain after looking at your pictures ? ok… rain in HI does not sound like rain in Kosovo, but still 😉 Have a lovely day dear and thanks again for sharing!

    Like

  5. Entranced by the beauty of the photos,quotes,the sounds of nature,your thoughts,your awe-inspiring Monday walk,which is a very special walk to me,a walk that always brings peace of mind to me and fills my soul with tender feelings and noble thoughts.Most exceptional work my loveliest friend Amy!
    Loved the brilliant faces of the gorgeous flowers and the sparkling rain droplets on their crispy petals,the flexible trunks of the palm trees dancing to the rhythms of the wind and the sounds of the vast ocean with the foaming breakers ! I also heard the beautiful talking bird asking me the same question;of course my answer was :
    ” What a question to ask my sweet feathered friend … ” and then I turned my head skywards to attend the great performance of the white Egret … Thank you so much Amy for letting me follow the walk in The Big Island with you! Warm Greetings from Greece and Love to you 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Oooh… my dearest friend. Your eloquent words made these photos beautiful to look at. 🙂 I love how you spend time here and look through each photo. It’s a wonderful feeling that I am taking you to a walk that I enjoyed so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Enthralled by the magic of the walk,I almost forgot to tell you that I visited the Flash Fiction chain and I found it very creative ! I wish I had the time and wild imagination to participate …
    Thanks for all the well-selected suggestions 🙂 ❤

    Like

  7. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : London by Moonlight | restlessjo

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

