Originality Is Going Back To Origin (Part 1)

~ Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926)

Fuse_IMG_6162

At that time, Gaudi and his team were a new generation that sought to define Barcelona, they want to define the city and a new urban space with new concept for the new era.

Fused_IMG_6185

Gaudi reinvented facades, roofs, windows for Sagrada Familia. He despised grayness, rigidity and coldness, uniformity, and moroseness. For one building alone, In Gaudi invented 40 types of column.

Fuse_IMG_61692014t

Gaudi used organic forms and patters to provide a myriad of decorative features. His unique style drew primarily from nature, which is the key factor of his architecture design.

Fuse_IMG_6192

Sagrada Família become symbolic of Barcelona itself drawing an estimated 2.5 million visitors annually.  A very long waiting line to get entrance ticket and a longer line to get in the cathedral. 

IMG_6212

Gaudi designed the church with 18 tower. 8 towers have been built, 4 on each facade. The facades are not connected and therefore have independent entrances.

Fuse_IMG_6237-2

 WPC: Cover Art:

Fuse_IMG_6179- post2014

Thank you for visiting! 

82 thoughts on “Originality Is Going Back To Origin (Part 1)

  1. So beautiful…..I love the organic feel to this stunning building, in fact in all his buildings….nature it turns out is the best muse 🙂
    You caught some lovely shots here….the last one is especially beautiful

    Like

    • So glad you like the photos, Cindy! I don’t know how many hundreds of people packed there, but every one was aiming something in the Cathedral with his/her camera. 🙂

      Like

  2. I was so impressed when I saw Gaudi’s work, that that first impression has stayed with me through most of my life. He was truly able to surprise the visitors to his buildings. Thanks for the beautiful pictures.

    Like

  3. I must admit I am not a big fan of Gaudi’s work, cathedral included. I was gifted with a charcoal painting of it and never actually framed or hung it. I wonder what the test of time will say about it. That notwithstanding, your photos are beautiful and show it beautifully Amy. But you never say how you personally feel about it. Your thoughts?

    Like

    • Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts, Tina. No, I didn’t and still don’t love his design either, but have been reading critics, analysis, etc. I thought if I could know a bit about him and understand his work a little more, I may appreciate it better; and I’m still studying… But, I do admire Gaudi’s vision, courage, and passion, and that he made a breakthrough at that time. Thank you so much for letting me expressing my thoughts.
      Glad you like the photos. I thought it was impossible to take a good picture due to the irregularity of the elements that he created for the cathedral, for example. 40 different type and sizes of columns in one building.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It really is… grandeur and revolutionary. I’m reading a lot to understand his style and his vision in order to appreciate more. 🙂 Thank you, Rommel. I know you’ll take great shots when you go there next year. 🙂

      Like

  4. When my Mom and I went there, it was closed so we just contented ourselves with seeing the outside. With your wonderful photos I hope I will get another chance to see it.

    Like

  5. Now,after seeing your imposing and impressive photos,I can tell that I really visited Sagrada Familia !!!
    Loved all the angles and the wpward perspective that reveal incredible details on his unique stately style.I assume we have to admit that he did write history in the world of Architecture,in the world of Arts where there is no limit …
    As for your well-worded post with the glorious photos ; a paean to the phenomenal Gaudi order !!!
    Much Kudos for your remarkable and meticulous work my dearest friend Amy 🙂 ❤ xxx

    Like

    • The special post you did for me right before I went to Barcelona was so inspiring. I was excited about my trip after view the gorgeous photos you took. Thank you so much for your compliment, my dearest friend. ❤ I'd like to do another one post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Marvellous architecture. Didn’t that Gaudi drew on nature when he created these masterpieces. Tall columns with fuzzy, jagged edges on the roof remind me of trees in a dense forest. In some parts the ceiling looks like flowers too. I think if I were there and looked up, I’d feel giddy 🙂 It’s interesting to see the place well-lit, with natural lighting. What a designer Gaudi was indeed.

    Like

      • I was there in 1994 and 1996 and even in that time there was a lot. A lot of the outside was done, but not the inner cathedrals which would be something. Can you still go up the towers? We did that in ’94 no time in ’96. With a large backpack it was hard to get around so we didn’t get to the top and I would love to go back and do it.

        Like

    • Thank you so much for review this many times, Charlie! Jaw dropping, indeed! So glad I could share these photo with you. I really enjoyed Spain, more than I expected. I may do another one next Sunday. 🙂

      Like

  7. I can tell right now, The orples and I are going to have a field day splashing in your mud puddle, Amy. How lucky you were to take these photos firsthand. I love the lesson, too. Thanks for the share. 🙂

    Like

  8. Gorgeous photos. I have been to Barcelona and visited La Sagrada Familia. It is epic. Your photos are wonderful. I also love the facade on the outside of the building. I have a few posts on my site with photos of these facades if you are interested in visiting. One can love or hate Gaudi but there is no denying the draw to his work.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

