Transmission of Light for WPC (Sunlight)

clouds-plane-2

 

Upon entering a denser substance, transmitted light slows in speed. If the light enters at an angle, the light’s path bends. This bending is termed refraction.    

~ Cooperative Institute for Meteorological Satellite Studies

I like how the CIMSS defines the refraction (WPC for this week). They also provide a diagram to explain the theory:

refract

I snapped this view from my hotel window when I was out-of-town for a business trip.  The airplane showing at the bottom of the photo was a nice surprise. 🙂   

Cathy shot of a Tarpon late in the afternoon while diving on the Lighthouse Reef Atoll in Belize. Her stunning shot is a perfect and beautiful photo example of refraction! Click HERE...

Enjoy the weekend!  

 

89 thoughts on “Transmission of Light for WPC (Sunlight)

  1. Science and entrancing beauty dearest Amy !!! Your phenomenal and magical photo was an awesome example to transmit rays of light to broad wavelengths while the airplane conspired to intensify the breathtaking view !!!
    You have my love ❤ and my admiration for your inspiring viewpoints and photos :)))))))) xxx

    Like

    • As I was looking out the window from my hotel room, this stunning sight was right there and my camera was sitting on the desk by the window. 🙂 The plane appeared when I was shooting the clouds. That was a wonderful surprise.
      Thank you for taking time to give such beautiful and eloquent comment. I’m humbled, Doda dear… 🙂 ❤ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful shot, Amy. The yellow light bouncing selectively behind and across the clouds, like it’s being a bit cheeky. Agree with you the plane is a great additional to the photo. It looks so small against the universe around it. Hope you’re having a good one this weekend. Spring is indeed in full-swing over here 🙂

    Like

  3. What a fabulous shot, Amy. I love how the clouds lead my eye from lower left to upper right and the down to the silhouette of that little airplane in the pocket of light! You have such a great eye! And many, many thanks for the shoutout! I’m so glad you enjoyed the shot! You’re most kind.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

