When Will I See You Again (Alhambra part 4)

see you 1

The Gardens of Alhambra is the closest thing on earth to the Quran’s description of heaven.

The Generalife (means ”garden of the architect” ) with its palace and gardens was built as the summer residence and country estate of the Nasrid sultans of Granada. It is one of the oldest of the Moorish Gardens. 

Garden-01

There are elaborate well-manicured gardens divided up by trimmed hedgerows, vegetable patches, green labyrinths, and walking paths. 

Pinetrees

Many trees in the Alhambra Gardens were planted more than 600 year ago. 

see you 03

see you 02

“On such heavenly nights I would sit for hours at my window inhaling the sweetness of the garden, and musing on the checkered fortunes of those whose history was dimly shadowed out in the elegant memorials around.

…all was open, spacious, beautiful; everything called up pleasing and romantic fancies.”  

~Washington Irving “The Alhambra”

see you 4

When will I see you again?

palace

Thank you for giving me the pleasure of sharing the four series of the Alhambra with you!

It Is Perfectly Incomplete ( Alhambra part 1) 

Alhambra 9-5 4

Paradise On Earth (Alhambra part 2)

Alh pt23

Paradise On Earth (Alhambra part 3)

gardens-pt3 01

88 thoughts on “When Will I See You Again (Alhambra part 4)

  1. Good morning, Amy. I love the place a lot when I read your first post. And with each of your new post, I love the place more and more. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. Helen

    Like

  2. Hmmmm…. yah, I agree, when will we see it again. The way you’ve written these series and the sweet smell of orange blossoms makes me want to truly go back, Amy. Bravo.

    Like

  3. Ah, Amy dear, what a delight it’s been to spend some more time in the immortal Moorish palaces in Granada. I’m as lucky as the sultans and their wives to have spent several days in those gardens – from the depths of winter to the height of summer, the romance and magic of the place populates our imagination with images of heaven, or of tales of the most exotic kind. Thank you for taking me back again. 🙂

    Like

    • You’re right, even with thousands of tourists, you still could appreciate the peacefulness in this grand place. It was just difficult to get a good spot to shoot pictures. 🙂
      It was ridiculously difficult to leave, say the least… Thank you for letting me share it with you, Dragon. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ve just read your 4 part series on the Alhambra Palace – what stunning photos it truly looks like a paradise on earth! I saw a good documentary not that long ago on tv about the Moors in Europe and it very interesting – I hadn’t realised their influence was so strong. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for spending time to read this series, Rosemary! Thank you for letting me know the Moors TV series. I should look for it. I watched it a little bit when it was showing on the Smithsonian channel. Appreciate so much of your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re very welcome Amy I found it fascinating! The TV series was called “When The Moors Ruled in Europe” and was presented by a British historian, Bettany Hughes. We saw it here in Australia so am sure it’ll be shown round the world and if not looks like it’s available on DVD. Thanks for visiting and following my blog too much appreciated! I’ve not been blogging very long and am amazed by all the wonderful blogs and bloggers I keep coming across! Look forward to reading more of your lovely posts 🙂

        Like

  5. Amy Dear !!! Magical your post,magical your photos and your uplifting words ! You have flooded my soul with indescribable emotions.Your extraordinary photos have enhanced the beauty of the real gardens.The two tall cypresses are imposingly soaring to meet the divine … and the Arabesque elaborate Artwork in the interior of the palace is absolutely sublime ! Thank you so much for all the endless beauty you shared with us 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

      • Whatever you share with us is taken from the depths of your soul and it is always presented with grace and warmth !!! Beauty is first in you and then in your photos…
        Have a brilliant day my sweet friend Amy :))))))) ❤ 🙂

        Like

        • I’m in tears, my dear friend Doda… If I have presented with grace and warmth, it because of your never ending support and love. I can’t ask for more… It means so much to me. Appreciate you words from my heart. ❤ 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s a few years since I travelled abroad, but your pictures have made me really want to go back to Spain and visit the Alhambra – such wonderful mystical gardens and architecture.

    Like

  7. Pingback: It Is Perfectly Incomplete (Alhambra part 1) | The World Is a Book...

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

