Dialogue: Milkweed

milkweed and bugs post

milkweed and bugs

milkweed and bugs-3

According to Live Monarch, this year AGAIN marks the lowest number of over wintering Monarchs in the Mexican mountains in the last 20 years… There are 97% fewer than at their recorded height and 50% less than there were last year. Researchers are worried we may lose a large part of their migration this year if immediate action is not taken and severely threaten all Monarchs if the pattern continues. Please plant seeds and ensure their survival.

If you love butterflies and flowers, get milkweed seeds here or go to http://www.livemonarch.com/free-milkweed-seeds.htm

“What a treat it was to ‘catch’ this butterfly as there are so few Monarchs around this summer. Plan for next year? Plant milkweed!”, Firefox said.  Take a look of her beautiful Hunting Butterfly post.

I’m very pleased with the responses of my previous milkweed post. Below was one of the three pics posted, showing the milkweed was turning into seeds:

milkweed-2

See more entries

Happy Thursday 🙂

 

59 thoughts on “Dialogue: Milkweed

  1. Amy, thank you thank you thank you. I had meant to get milkweed for the Monarchs and I forgot! I have a Butterfly Bush but now I shall plant milkweeds too. Great images and I really do thank you for nudging my brain! Have a great day! Love, Amy

    Like

  2. Yes, ma’am. Plant more milkweed. And encourage landowners and highway departments to let it grow until the monarchs have had their chance. Thanks for the informative and alarming post. Thanks also for the links to Firefox. 🙂

    Like

  3. my heart smiles to see that someone is taking positive steps for this.. there’s a growing ‘file’ of posts about this dilemma, and your post is one that needs a huge audience….

    it will be another week before i am able to be on fast internet, and for the next month i will be tapping into more reliable connections.

    i will help spread this message…

    thank you!

    z

    Like

  4. You know I definitely noticed less Monarchs this year. There are milkweeds ALL OVER the NL but less here in PA. I will get some too. Great post Amy !

    Like

  5. Dear Amy,
    Thanks for the shout out and the link! Thanks too for this info, we will be purchasing our seeds for next year and will hope that soon the monarch is as common as it used to be!
    All best,
    Firefox

    Like

  6. love your beautiful photos, Amy. hope many will take positive action to this plight. so sad to learn the decline of monarch butterflies’ migration. they are beautiful! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so touched by your nice comment, my friend! I know you love nature and you have advocated planting trees and flowers for a long time. Thank you for your effort, Charlie!

      Like

  7. Another inspiring post. I’m saving up all I’m learning. I may not be able to put it into practice but I’m sure enjoying looking at photographers work who can do it better than I can.

    Like

  8. Oh Amy!!!! So so so beautiful!!! I love all..But I was shocked by the first one…What I first thought was “a mother taking care of her child…” How is it possible you can get those `pics ??? You have a third sense…
    My congrats!!!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

