Spanish Tiles

tile 7-29 4

The Spanish tile work is truly remarkable. Walking through the city of Sevilla, we saw beautiful tiles decorated in gardens, courtyards, streets, and parks.

tile 7-29 2

tile 7-29 3

–This is one of the six tile benches in a public square.

couryard tiles 7-29

–This grand tile entrance led to a private courtyard, and more beautiful tiles inside of the courtyard.

Some Fabulous tile works in the Alcazar Garden:

tile bench

–The bench is an example of using the raised lined tiles, which was made in the rectangular press-molded arista. That was a method they use to keep the glazes from running together during firing.

tile 7-29 7

— Here is one of the many grand tile benches at the Alcazar garden.

tile wall 7-29

–The Islamic tile patterns is known to be unique. Its traditional designs and processes were extremely complicated and tedious. As each ceramic piece was connected with other pieces, the angle of each must be accurately determined and measured enabling each neighboring piece to be joined perfectly into geometry patterns.

Notes:

  • The glazed tiles and tiles enameled with metallic oxides in Spain were introduced by Moors .
  • A mixture of manganese and olive oil is still used by most cuerda seca ceramists to separate the glazes. The glaze is applied with an ear syringe between the painted lines.

This one is for you, Cindy.

walking-logo

Please visit Jo’s Monday Walk and other walking entries…

Thank you for visiting 🙂

66 thoughts on “Spanish Tiles

  1. Hi, I just found your blog and now am a follower. Some of your weekly challenges look interesting I will be visiting again. Great pictures of the tiles in lovely Seville.

    Like

  2. Good morning, Amy. Your photos makes me wanting to go there 😉 But at this moment, just came back from a trip, I would keep these pictures in my head and think about them 😉 Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

  3. The details are fabulous, aren’t they, Amy? Thank you so much for sharing. I think I’d have to carry a small cushion in my bag if I lived in Spain. They are totally beautiful but a bit hard on the derriere 🙂

    Like

  4. Great set of shots, Amy. The art has such intricate patterns, must have took so long to draw and paint. I think if you look too long at them, you’ll get a bit crossed eyed or blurred vision 😀 Seriously, I think it’s great these tiles are on display in the city for free for all to see, and people seem to take them seriously as works of art. All glossy, shiny tiles. Not a scratch in sight, just a bit of wear and tear.

    Like

    • Thank you for reading. I wasn’t sure if you’d find it interesting. You are right about the blurred vision. 🙂 I found the traditional islamic tiles are especially amazing due to its long processes.

      Like

      • These tiles in Spain actually reminded me of Chinese patterns, which are equally intricate. The difference between the two is that Chinese patterns have more warm colours like red, gold and orange.

        Anything you put up is interesting, Amy. I always enjoy seeing the world through your eyes when I have the time.

        Like

        • Your kind comment made me smile. Thank you for letting me share my small “world” with you. I didn’t even think of Chinese tiles. Good point. Thank you for sharing your insight, Mabel 🙂

          Like

    • Thank you for spending time here, Dragon. As they continue making new tiles, they make great effort to restore these old ones using the traditional method.

      Like

  5. Ooh, I really do have to visit Seville again (only had a day trip there) your photos of the gorgeous tiles are fab. I especially like the courtyard with the window. And I have to go to the Alcazar gardens! Thanks Amy 🙂
    Jude xx

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

