Jo’s Monday Walk: Countryside (part 2)

Monday-w

Allow me to share a few more photos of our Texas countryside walk.

These handsome horses were just standing there, they didn’t pay attention to us… Do horses ever sit or lay down?

Monday-w-2

These red wildflowers are the Indian paintbrushes. They start blooming the same time as the Bluebonnets and in the same areas.

Monday-w-4

I really wanted to take photos of the ranch through the wire fence, but hubby won’t let me step on the grass, “Snakes might be hiding there. I’m serious!” He told me repeatedly.

Monday-w-3

This beautiful countryside is only 20 miles away from Austin (Texas Capital).  See the earlier Countryside walk click here.

Indian paintbrush-4

Jo takes us to GUISBOROUGH FOREST AND THE PRIORY for a grand walk, you don’t want to miss it. Join us and share you walk and photos.

Thank you for stopping by! Happy Earth Day 🙂

 

 

63 thoughts on “Jo’s Monday Walk: Countryside (part 2)

  1. Those flowers are gorgeous, Amy! And sunshine- just what I needed 🙂
    Yikes- snakes! There’s no need to go that far for one of my Monday walks! I’m very grateful but keep off the grass 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Guisborough Forest and the Priory | restlessjo

  3. Wow Amy….absolutely beautiful. Love that first shot of the horses and the fence row with the flowers is my kind of shot. Wish I was there enjoying those flowers. Boots….tall boots and then the heck with snakes.

    Like

  4. The horses are beautiful as are the flowers. Thanks for the close-up pictures since I’ve never been that close to that species. A lovely day, or so it seems from this pretty post.

    Like

  5. Thank you for the beautiful walk, Amy. Yes, horses do lay down, not much but yes. They love to roll in mud for one. I have a horse that lives next door to us, and I can count on my one hand the time this horse has laid down. Don’t their legs get tired?

    I needed this so much and I thank you for the lift of my spirits. Tell hubby he sounds like mine and that he worries too much! A snake? Give me a break! (sorry, hubby!) xx Amy

    Like

  6. Lovely walk! My horse friend that lives down the road does indeed lay down and rolls around, I love watching. Your Texas horses must be very refined and don’t act silly 🙂

    Like

  7. I love horses and yes they lay down, but rarely sit (maybe on a circus). One of the horses is a bit to skinny as well, if to point out something. But as to give information on why they stand up is since it is more safe in the wild and they have a function in their legs somehow, making it possible to “lock” them and by this sleeping standning up. Thanks for great photos.

    Like

  8. I’ve never seen a horse sit myself.

    And well, well, well … that last pic … I might retire taking flower pics as long as you do great job sharing awesome flower pics. 😀

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

