The Longwood Gardens

Longwood-trees

Many of my blog friends and followers have enjoyed the Longwood Conservatory post that I posted. Today, we are walking outside of the conservatory, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Longwood-pond

“I have recently experienced what I would formerly have diagnosed as an attack of insanity; that is, I have purchased a small farm,” Pierre du Pont wrote to a friend soon after purchasing the Peirce farm in 1906.

By the mid-1930s, Pierre S. duPont purchased 25 contiguous properties, the Longwood gardens had grown from the original 202 acres to 926.

Longwood-7

It takes 1,300 employees and volunteers with a $50 million annual budget to maintain these 20 outdoor gardens and 20 indoor gardens.

Longwood-flowers

Walking through the gardens is almost like journeying into another planet.

walk-hydr-1

Even the bathrooms are ridiculously beautiful! Take a look:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Notes:

There are about 9,000 taxa (including different species, varieties, and cultivars) of cultivated plants growing at Longwood, including:

  • Orchidaceae with about 3,000 taxa
  • Rosaceae with more than 700 taxa
  • Ericaceae with over 400 taxa
  • Liliaceae with over 400 taxa

Special thanks to Jo for promoting my first Monday Walk post. It boosted the traffic of my humble blog; and I had fun walking with my blog friends 🙂 Hope you’ll join Jo’s Monday Walk and share your thoughts, photos, and/or stories. Thank you so much for visiting! 

Enjoy Jo’s Hartlepool story trail and Christine’s Swimming on the Bingie Dreaming Track!

74 thoughts on “The Longwood Gardens

  1. I can see the flaw in this now, Amy! I’m going to want to do ALL of your walks with you 🙂 Can we arrange that, do you think? Me and Mick would be in seventh heaven in this place. Many thanks to you again for sharing, and for joining in the fun.

    Like

    • It’d be pleasure to walk with you, Jo 🙂 I have been there a number of times, still want to visit again and again… So glad you like it. Your Monday Walk is a great place to share. Thanks to you!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Hartlepool Story Trail | restlessjo

  3. That’s Paradise on Earth,dear Amy !!! Lush vegetation jungle high and lovely flower arrangements to feast our eyes on ! Your wondrous photo series invigorated my senses and lifted my spirits 🙂 Majestic gardens for lazy walks and for your peace of mind !!!
    I just loved it all ,♡ (◠‿◠✿) ♡ ((( hugs ))) 🙂

    Like

      • I have to thank you for all the remarkable posts you share with us !!! Amy Dear,can’t stay passive when I am in front of such beauties,I feel like expressing my real admiration.Thank you,my friend 🙂

        Like

  4. How did I miss this Amy?? I love this post and as you know I love Longwood Gardens. My husband and I have decided that we will renew our membership for another year (this past year was the first).
    You have such beautiful pictures. I especially love the one with the stone steps. I missed those bathrooms last time we were there so next time, I have to check them out. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

