Starry, starry night…

Today is Vincent Van Gogh’s birthday. He was born on March 30, 1853 and died on July 29, 1890.

Vincent Van Gogh moved to Arles in 1888, where his work grew brighter in color, and he developed his unique painting style. In his life, he only sold one painting. Theo, his brother, had given him financial and emotional support through his life. Yet, Vincent considered himself to be rich. “In my opinion, I am often rich — not in money, but (though it doesn’t happen every day) rich — because I have found in my work something which I can devote myself to heart and soul, and which inspires me and gives a meaning to life.”, he said.

The only painting Vincent van Gogh sold during his lifetime was Red Vineyard at Arles (The Vigne Rouge)

–The only painting Vincent van Gogh sold during his lifetime was Red Vineyard at Arles (The Vigne Rouge)

In ten years, Vincent produced more than 2,100 paintings and drawings, plus 900 letters (600 letter to his brother, Theo).

“I put my heart and soul into my work, and I have lost my mind in the process.”    

— Vincent Van Gogh

(Over 8,700,000 hits, so far. Another 3 more million hits on other versions on Youtube)

When Vincent was in Arles, Paul Gauguin stayed with him in a short period of time. Theo, his brother, had been his lifelong friend. This is how he said about friendship, “Close friends are truly life’s treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves. With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears. Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.” Starry_Night_Over_the_Rhone

I don’t know anything with certainty, but seeing the stars makes me dream.
― Vincent van Gogh

Perhaps, now we understand a little more about Vincent’s passion, love, struggle, and dream and how he lost his mind and how he tried to set them free.

Notes: Vincent Van Gogh, March 30, 1853 – July 29, 1890. Vincent shot himself, but did not die until 2 days later at the age of 37. Theo died six months after Vincent killed himself, he was buried by Vincent. Grave_of_VincentThank you so much for visiting!

43 thoughts on “Starry, starry night…

  1. I came here looking for your entry to this week’s photo challenge and found this wonderful post! Love it!! and I love that blue painting. Is that the one the song “Starry, Starry Night” is about? Is that the name of the painting too? It is beautiful!! and I don’t believe I’ve ever seen it. I know – how can that be huh? Thanks for this fun post!

    Like

  2. Great tribute to a great painter and to the concept of the true friendships.Thank you Amy for the well selected paintings you displayed and for the You Tube link ! I so much enjoyed all parts of your post !!!

    Like

  3. Thanks for a bit of history Amy. Van Gogh always makes me think of my beloved friend Barb, a great artist herself, who loved Van Gogh’s work and had three knit dresses with prints of his work on them.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

