Book sculpture

Take a look of these unusual sculptures:

This video reminded me the “Birth of Books” post I did last July (also included an interesting video):

  • Paper was invented by the ancient Chinesein about 105 C.E (Han Dynast) and spread slowly to the west via the Silk Road.
  • The earliest woodblock printed fragments were from China, before 220 AD.
  • Between 1041 and 1048, the first known movable type system was created out of porcelain in Bi Sheng, China. (Source: the wood printing in wikipedia) 
  • Block printing was used in Christian Europe as a method for printing on cloth, where it was common by 1300. At around 1400, paper became relatively available.
  •  Johannes Gutenberg, Mainz in Germany, developed European movable type printing technology in 1439. Gutenberg was also credited with the introduction of an oil-based ink.

Read more: Wikipedia “History of Printing“:

Ebook:

  • December 2004 Google signaled an extension to its Google Print initiative known as the Google Print Library Project , then announced partnerships with several high-profile university and public libraries
  • First generation Kindle was on the market on November 19, 2007, for $399.

Thank you for stopping by!

 

44 thoughts on “Book sculpture

  1. I have so many things ( not books ) that I have no use for but don’t want to toss out.

    I probably have a fortune stashed away in my closets. 🙂 Maybe not. 😦

    The book $culpture i$ $o fa$cinating.

    Like

  2. what a cool post – loved seeing the “book sculptor” – and how cool that he found his niche!! and how cool that it is also recycling in a way that lets you celebrate words, pics, and the book itself in a new way.

    amazing what that artist can do with an X-acto knife.

    also – your little book tidbits were great – thanks for the special Thursday post. 🙂
    ~y.

    Like

  3. Totally amazing, Amy! I can’t fathom out where he starts and how he pulls this together but it is quite incredible. I kind of want to get my hands on one, just for a proper look. 20,000? I’ll have to look from afar 🙂
    Genius share! I love it.

    Like

  4. Amy ! What an stunning post,my friend !!! I am totally amazed at his skillful creation ! I’ve already tweeted away the You Tube link.Great share,dear Amy !

    Sorry for MIO, I was away for a couple of days,I’m trying to catch up.
    Have a peaceful Sunday !

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

