Cowboys are coming to town!

As I promised, cowboy are coming to town…

DSC08201

The historic American cowboy of the late 19th century arose from the vaquero traditions of northern Mexico and became a figure of special significance and legend. A subtype, called a wrangler, specifically tends the horses used to work cattle.

cowboy-5

These cowboys are from different ranches in Texas. In addition to ranch work, some cowboys work for or participate in rodeos. DSC08308

cowboy-1

The cowboy has deep historic roots tracing back to Spain and the earliest European settlers of the Americas. “Howdy!”

cowboy-4

Cowboys also move the livestock to different pasture locations, or herd them into corrals and onto trucks for transport. They may do many other jobs depending on the size of the ranch.

A young boy cry out, “I see horses! I see cowboys!” cowboy-7

cowboy-2

Notice their clothes are similar to those of the 19th century. 

cowboy-14

Aren’t they handsome, I mean these horses? I’m talking to you, Paula 😀

DSC08284

A cowboy is riding a longhorn!  How awesome!

DSC08203

“Stop shooting, Amy! Marshall is talking to you!”

“I like your boots, Marshall… 🙂 ” Amy says.

cowboy-10

Read more in wikipedia… Don’t mess with Texas, y’all 😀   

The second half of this post is designated to the Ailsa Travel Theme –Work:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The 2014 San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo had over 1,740,ooo attendees.

I apologize for the poor quality photos of the rodeo show. We were not allowed to use any extended lens to photo. I brought my retired Sony cypershot. 🙂

P.S. Don’t Mess with Texas is a trademark of the Texas Department of Transportation, started in 1986. The intention behind the Don’t Mess with Texas campaign was to keep the Texas roadway clean, which has made a positive impa

 

See Cowgirls

cowgirls parade-3

47 thoughts on “Cowboys are coming to town!

    • I got a great spot, no one was in front of me and beside me 🙂 Alamo square was packed though. Hope you get to come next year. They started selling 2014 tickets last November… Parking was crazy!

      Like

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Something Fishy | Lost in Translation

  2. I love the excitement on the show. Looks like someone had a great time ogling at the mighty creatures… and I’m not talking about the horses. 😀 loved your humor on this, Amy.

    Like

    • So Glad you did, Doda! I’m sure the cowboys were happy with your re-visit 🙂 I was so much fun to take these pics and do the post 🙂 ♥

      Like

  3. What a blast. I enjoyed so much sharing the joy of this parade. The horses are beautiful and the cowboys awesome! This looks like it was so much fun. Have a great weekend.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

