A La Glorie

The July Column in Bastille (24 m or 80 ft high) is a symbol of France’s long struggle to establish democracy.

DSC01377

Le Génie de la Liberté (the “Spirit of Freedom”) on top of the column is a symbol of freedom to the future. Engraved in gold, “27, 28, 29 Juillet 1830” represents Les Trois Glorieuses (Three Glorious Days).

The storming of the Bastille on July 14, 1789 marked the beginning of the French Revolution. La Bastille generally refers to the prison in Paris; it has been a symbol of autocratic cruelty.

“Do you hear the people sing
…For the wretched of the earth
There is a flame that never dies.
Even the darkest night will end
And the sun will rise.”

–Victor Hugo,  Les Misérables

We’ve visited Paris a few times, Bastille has been our first stop. There, I looked up the gold bronze Angel of Freedom of the July Column, I thought of Victor Hugo’s Les Misérables — how people suffered, sacrificed, and struggled for freedom. I love the rest of Paris, but Bastille will always remain close to my heart…

“For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others.”  “Any man that tries to rob me of my dignity will lose.”  ― Nelson Mandela

Thank you for visiting 🙂



30 thoughts on “A La Glorie

  1. A glorious post and a very good shot, Amy. I like it much better than my pic of la Bastille :). You’ve managed to link Hugo and Mandela in one post and you’ve sent it all my way. How can I not like it ?! I adore it. THANK YOU.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Blooming water | Lost in Translation

  3. Pingback: The Sisterhood of the World and Word Press Family Blog Awards | Cee's Photography

  4. Great shot! I am from the suburbs of Paris and every time I see this monument, it reminds me of my country’s history and fight for democracy. It’s amazing what one simple statue reaching high into the sky can do.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

