Tea, Teapots…

Tea likely originated in Yunnan, China during 1500 BC–1046 BC. The earliest credible record of tea drinking dates to the 3rd century AD, in a medical text.

These Chinese tea sets were designed and made for the imperial family:

The teapots below were displayed in the museums in Xian and Shanghai, dated between 16th to 18th century:

IMG_2562

IMG_2551

IMG_2554

This ceramic kettle, dated 907 to 960 AD, is a national treasure in the Shaanx Museum, China. One of the uniquenesses of this kettle is that the body, lid, and beam are in one body:

IMG_1662

Take a look of how the kettle works

I really enjoyed the tea we had in China, I still remember the pleasant smell and wonderful taste. Here is a lovely tea package I bought at the airport:

004

005

Notes:

Tea was first introduced to Portuguese priests and merchants in China during the 16th century. Drinking tea became popular in Britain during the 17th century, they then introduced tea production, as well as consumption to India, to compete with the Chinese monopoly on tea.  More in Wikipedia… But, tea was introduced to Middle East to par of Europe through the Silk Road http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Silk_Road.

 

51 thoughts on “Tea, Teapots…

  1. I used to collect teapots but over the years sold them or gave them away… but I am still attracted to teapots in stores and museums… I would certainly be enticed to buy that tea package, it is so beautifully designed.

    Like

  2. I only started drinking because of Chai Tea Latte. Hehe. Then, I found out about the benefits of drinking tea. I started drinking and liking it esp. because of the tea brand, San Beneditto in Italy and areas in Spain. The traditional tea, er, I need some sugar to make it better. Lovely collections of tea pots. Too bad, visitors can’t use it for some tea party. 😀

    Like

    • No… that’s not for party 😀 You are a tea drinker.
      More and more people begin to know the benefits of drinking tea. I like to add a little lemon and honey, no milk 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful tea pots, Amy. I love those brown ones in the first photo. I am so attracted to tea pots, yet drink mostly only iced tea. In winter I do enjoy a cup of hot tea in the afternoon.
    Great entry for T

    Like

  4. Pingback: A-Z Challenge-T-T-T | WoollyMuses

  5. Unique and beautiful tea cups. A perfect starter for a tea party. My wife is collecting a few. She’s into tea while I’m into coffee. Thanks for the recent generous kind thoughts. Best wishes to you and family.

    Like

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

