The Forbidden City

All gates in the Forbidden City are decorated with a nine-by-nine array of golden door nails, except for the East Glorious Gate, which has only eight rows.  In the old time, once you entered the gate, you were in a different world…


There are five gates through the Forbidden City wall. The center entrance was for the emperor.  However, an empress could be granted the privilege of using this gate on her wedding day. As a special honor, the top three scholars, who achieved the highest awards in the national examinations presided over by the emperor, would be permitted to march through the center gate.


The two smaller entrances next to the center one were for ministers and the royal family. The remaining two doors at the end of each side of the wall were used during the dynasty ceremonies.

There are some interesting facts about the Forbidden City.

Visit Ailsa’ very special Travel Them: Through and more…

Happy to see you here 🙂

46 thoughts on “The Forbidden City

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: