Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

Deep-sea creatures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some interesting facts:

  • A lobster can live for 50 years.
  • Oyster can change from one gender to another and back again.
  • Jellyfish in the deep ocean change their forms and colors fast and constantly. Their lifespans range from a few hours to several months.
  • More than 50 percent of deep-ocean animals use light to holler, flirt, and/or fight. They carry glowing torches atop their heads. They vomit brightness, also smear light on their enemies.
IMG
  • Oceans cover 70 percent of the Earth’s surface.
  • The Pacific Ocean is the largest of all the oceans.

Remember: Plastic waste kills up to one million seabirds, 100,000 sea mammals and countless fish each year.

See more sea entries

Thank you so much for visiting! Have a fun, relaxing weekend 🙂

60 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea (Stories of the Edge) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | Pilot Fish

  3. I love this post Amy. I love how you combine advocacy with facts. It is amazing how much we waste in terms of plastic bags. I always carry my reusable bags now everywhere or carry my stuff in my arms. If only more people did this and didn’t get everything put in a plastic bag every time they shopped! I’m sharing this post on my facebook page thirdeyemom. Love the jelly fish pic too!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sea | Joe's Musings

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | Far Away

  6. I LOVE MOON JELLYFISH! If I were rich and cooky I would build a tank just for moon jellyfish and watch them float away all day, in my living room!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Sea (3) | Bastet and Sekhmet

Thank you for visiting! Love to hear from you...

